WR151: Sociology of Code-Switching (Spring 2025)

For finding primary sources, we recommend using digital libraries and archives available through BU Libraries. A full list of primary source collections you have access to through BU is also available. Have something else in a mind? Try searching Google with your subject terms and the keywords "primary sources" or "digital collections" or "digital library." Or, contact Lucy, BU Librarian, at LFlamm@BU.edu.

You want to develop keywords and search terms for your research question within these primary source collections. A how-to-guide for creating these keywords is available here. Depending on which dataset you choose to work with, try out different versions of your keywords together to find results.

Connect to recent New York Times articles here. Or, search other newspaper outlets and archives by clicking below:

• Boston Globe (1872 - 1993) 
• Boston Globe (1980 - Present) 
• New York Times (1851 - 2020) 
• ProQuest Recent Newspapers 
• Access World News 
• PressReader 
• Nexis Uni

The subscription database CIAO: Columbia international affairs online searches within many well-known think tanks, with a focus on International Relations. The search box below is a custom search created in Google; it is in no way complete, but may provide a useful starting point.

• Roper Center Public Opinion Archives 

• Pew Research Center: Global Attitudes & Trends 

• National Archive of Data on Arts & Culture (NADAC) 

• General Social Survey

• Eurobarometer . 

• European Values Study 

• World Public Opinion 

Social Explorer: Explore over 500,000 data indicators and over 220 years of data for the United States from present to 1790, including all Decennial Censuses, American Community Surveys and many other datasets.

Policy Map: This link opens in a new window Easy-to-use online mapping and visualization tool. You can download demographic, economic, and social data by city, state, zip code, county, or census tract. Data points include crime, housing, health, education and occupation. 

Statistical Insight: Indexes U.S. Federal, state government, and international statistics. This is available to you as a BU affiliated through a Boston Public Library card (available as an electronic card, here). 

U.S. Federal Government Resources

Social Explorer: Explore over 500,000 data indicators and over 220 years of data for the United States from present to 1790, including all Decennial Censuses, American Community Surveys and many other datasets.

U.S. Government Publishing Office Federal Digital System: GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. 

U.S. Government Budget Fiscal Year 2025: Details governmental budget allocations and priorities for the fiscal year. 

ProQuest Congressional: Covers abstracts and indexing for hearings, reports, documents and committee prints. 

USA.gov: This website allows you to discover government information and services by topic. 

U.S. Census: This portal will connect you to information related to the last census.

Congress.gov: The legislation collection includes records for every bill and resolution introduced in the U.S. Congress.

House Ways and Means Committee Green Book: Green Book provides data and other information on federal programs within the purview of the House Ways and Means Committee, which includes social security and child care services. 

State Government Resources

Library of Congress State and Local Government Information: Provides detailed information on legal materials by state jurisdiction

Mass.gov: This website provides information on local state policies including housing, unemployment, and healthcare access.

Fiscal 50: State Trends & Analysis: An interactive web platform that offers context and details on states' fiscal health with regional benchmarks, state trends, and various data points.