Background Sources
The Oxford handbook of philosophy and race by ISBN: 0190638087The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Race provides up-to-date explanation and analyses by leading scholars of contemporary issues in philosophy of race and African American philosophy. Ideas about race held by Locke, Hume, Kant, Hegel, and Nietzsche are supplemented by suppressed thought from the African diaspora, early twentieth-century African American perspectives, and Native American, Asian American, and Latin American views.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society by ISBN: 9781412926942Publication Date: 2008-03-20This three-volume reference addresses the wide range of issues that concern race and ethnicity alongside descriptive entries about racial, ethnic, and nationality groups worldwide. Entries are provided for selected countries, biographies, community and urban issues, concepts and theories, economics and stratification, and education, among other major themes. A sampling of individual topics include prisons, racial profiling, Black Power, repatriation of Mexican Americans, Black feminism, the National Council of La Raza, internalized racism, and Harlem Renaissance. E
Racial and Ethnic Relations in America by ISBN: 9781682173169Publication Date: 2017-01-01The three volumes of Racial & Ethnic Relations in America discuss the history of race relations in America, and provide new insight into racial relations and tensions seen in our cities, in the media, and on the minds of Americans today. Over 900 entries present clear, detailed descriptions of ideas and theories, descriptions of people and events, and essential facts about court cases, laws and movements. This new edition features a full update of existing material, taking into consideration new terms and language regarding race.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia offers concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts in sociology, written by leading scholars in the field, including several faculty from Boston University. Content dating to 2015 is included. Entries range from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in both classical sociology and contemporary developments in the field.
Browse Selected Primary Sources
Blacks
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
AM Explorer is a cross-collection search of the entire corpus of Adam Matthew's digitized arts and cultural heritage material in subjects including Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict.
- Black Abolitionist Papers This link opens in a new window
This collection searches a unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. The content includes letters, speeches, editorials, articles, sermons, and essays from libraries and archives in England, Scotland, Ireland, Canada, and the United States.
- HistoryMakers: African American Video Oral History Collection This link opens in a new windowHistoryMakers is a collection of video oral history interviews with historically significant African Americans. Transcripts are included with the interviews.
Asian Americans
- Japanese American Internment During World War IIThis primary source set uses documents and photographs to tell the story of Japanese American internment during World War II.
- Japanese American National Museum Collections OnlineThe Japanese American National Museum’s Collections Online features selected highlights from our permanent collection of over 60,000 unique artifacts, documents, and photographs.
- The Korean American Digital ArchiveThe Korean American Digital Archive brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965.
- Reading Sa I GuAn archive of writings and images on the 1992 Los Angeles Civil Unrest. Sa I Gu is a term used by Korean Americans to remember the 1992 Los Angeles Civil Unrest, which is commonly referred to as the LA Riots, the Rodney King Riots, or the LA Uprising.
Latina/o Americans
- Centro Center for Puerto Rican StudiesWelcome to the Centro Archives Digital Collections, a growing resource of material digitized from collections throughout the Archive's holdings. This site provides access to photographs, documents, artifacts, art, maps, oral histories, moving image and audio clips, and other material pertaining to the Puerto Rican diaspora. Highlights include material from the Pura Belpre Papers, Justo A. Marti Photograph Collection, and interviews from Centro's Oral History Project. The Gallery section contains curated content on a variety of topics and people.
- Latino civil rights during the Carter administration (ProQuest History Vault)Latino Civil Rights During the Carter Administration gives rich insight into the efforts of the Executive Branch of U.S. government to reach out to the burgeoning Latino population during the last 2 years of the Carter Administration. In the summer of 1979, the Carter Administration created the White House Office of Hispanic Affairs in order to address issues of critical importance to the Latino community. The coming decade of the 1980s was being hailed as 'the Decade of the Hispanic,' and many were looking to the president and Congress to show more respect for Latinos and their manifold contributions to the United States. Major topics covered in this collection include inflation, bilingual education, police brutality, political unrest in Latin America, Haitian refugees, and immigration (legal and otherwise), Puerto Rican self-determination, and the U.S. Navy's use of Vieques Island.
- Onda Latina: The Mexican American ExperienceThe Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series; "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.
Indigenous Peoples
- American Indians and the American West (1809 - 1971) This link opens in a new window
Collections from the U.S. National Archives and the Chicago History Museum, along with first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. Includes Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) and Records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume III: Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window
Contains documentaries, feature films and shorts made by and for indigenous people and communities. Topics are simultaneously local and global, with particular emphasis on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new windowThis collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century. Part I contains primary sources including manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, and images of artwork. Part II contains records of the Indian Rights Association, 1882-1986.
- American Indian Histories and Cultures (AM Explorer)Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
