Find Books in the BU Libraries
The search box on the Libraries' Homepage allows you to search for books, articles, and videos available at the BU Libraries.
Here are some suggested search terms to help you get started:
Find Journal Articles
- ERIC (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ERIC is a collection of journal articles, association reports, conference papers, government documents, books and other materials on education-related topics. Some items are available in full text. This database is particularly useful for public policy, curriculum studies, administration, and youth literature.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Social Sciences Full Text provides access to hundreds of English language journals in the social sciences. About two-thirds of the journals are peer-reviewed.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews. It also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Forty percent of the content is published outside of North America.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new window Education Full Text provides records for research articles and other scholarly materials, some available in full text, covering all levels from early childhood to higher education. Subject scope includes special education, teaching methods, leadership, global education and much more.
- Education Database This link opens in a new window Education Database provides access to a large number of academic publications, including many articles in full text. The scope spans all levels of education and is particularly strong in the topics of special education, educational administration, early childhood education, and higher education.
Are you only finding an article abstract but not the full-text of the article? Not to worry, the 
will lead you to the full-text of the article.
Integrated into many BU journal databases, the Find@BU button will help you get to the article in one of three ways:
- If BU has the full-text of the article through an online journal subscription, you will see a link that will take you directly to the article or the online journal.
- If BU subscribes to the print journal in which the article appeared, you will see information about which BU Library carries the print volumes, and the call number of the title.
- IF BU does not subscribe to either a print or online version of a journal, you will be given an option to get the article from another article. A link will take you to our interlibrary loan request form. Once you fill out this form, you will receive a pdf copy of the article within 48 hours of your request.
Boolean operators can help you build a successful search strategy.
Boolean terms are words include AND, OR, and NOT.
- Typing in SAT OR ACT into the database will find articles on either or both SATs and the ACT.
- SAT AND ACT will pull articles that mention both Kenya and maternal health.
- "higher education" NOT "secondary education" will eliminate articles about "secondary education."
