Open Access Directories and Indexes
The following open access resources are available to you:
- BioMed Central
An open access publisher of over 250 free online academic journals specializing in subjects related to science, technology and medicine.
- Digital Commons Network: Social Work
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
- DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
This international directory indexes freely available online journal titles and individual articles listed by subject area. To be included journals must be peer-reviewed or editorially reviewed
- The National Academies Press
All books published by the National Academies Press can be downloaded as PDFs for free by registering for a free account. Browse topics like aging, children, youth & families, policy, reviews and evaluations, population and fertility studies, women and minorities.
- OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories
OpenDOAR allows users to search for and in academic open access institutional repositories, worldwide. A simple Google custom search allows you to find many dissertations, theses and articles submitted to these repositories.
- PubMed (open access) (National Library of Medicine)
PubMed Central provides free access to biomedical and life sciences journals and acts as a repository for the National Institutes of Health(NIH) open access mandate which requires public access to research funded by by the NIH.
- ROAD: Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources
Search open access journals, conference proceedings, academic repositories and recent (since 2014) monograph series.
- Sherpa Romeo
Look up journal titles to find publishers’ copyright policies and if they allow self-archiving.
- SocArXiv
SocArXiv is a publicly accessible platform for the sharing of papers in the social sciences, built in partnership with the Center for Open Science. most research can be archived in a repository like Socarxiv or a university repository under publisher’s open access policy.
- Springer Open
Search within over 160 peer-reviewed open access journals and some open access books. Most journals are in the medicine and science but there are some articles covering the social sciences.
