Browse Selected Sources on Boston
Databases
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Fully searchable digital images of newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present times; indexes journal articles, book titles and chapters, reviews from numerous multilingual sources; all abstracts in English.
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window Digitized images of American magazines published between 1684 and 1912. Covers history of slavery, literature, women's and religious issues, politics, culture, the arts and foreign language journals published in the U.S. Rights for use by Boston University community supported by the Boston University Humanities Library Endowed Fund.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- Boston Globe (1872 - 1993) This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the newspaper The Boston Globe and its title variants. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 1993, please use Boston Globe 1980 - Present.
- Boston Globe (1980 - Present) This link opens in a new window Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). PLEASE NOTE: For articles published before 1980, please see Boston Globe (1872-1993) via ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
- Boston Globe (PressReader) Full-page images of current six weeks of the Monday-Saturday Boston Globe and 10/16/2003 until 03/01/2016.
- Boston [Sunday] Globe (PressReader) Full-page images of the Sunday Boston Globe, current six weeks.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local newspapers, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
Archival Collections & Other Resources
- Boston's Annexed Towns and Some Neighborhood Resources (BPL) Boston is known as a city of neighborhoods. Some were formerly cities and towns on their own, and were later annexed to Boston. This guide exists to gather together resources to help in the study of the former towns that make up Boston. Material on the neighborhoods as they exist today is also presented.
- Boston Public Library Research Guides Resources and tips for researching the history of Boston and Bostonians
- Bay State Banner Collection The Bay State Banner collection consists of photographs, electronic media, printed materials, and other items related to the Banner, a Boston-based African American newspaper. Photographs make up the majority of the collection and feature an extensive range of both color and black and white prints that have appeared in the Bay State Banner from the mid-1900s to the early 2000s.
- Lower Roxbury Black History Project, Northeastern University Archives Part of Northeastern University's continued commitment to collecting, preserving, and providing access to the rich historical legacy of Roxbury, and the voices of its residents: past, present, and future.
- Boston's Latino/a Community History Collection, Northeastern University Archives Boston's Latino/a Community History Collection is a project of the Northeastern University's University Archives and Special Collections. Over 41,000 items were selected, digitized, and made freely available to be a resource for community members, scholars, and students of all ages.
- Boston TV News Digital Library Welcome to the Boston TV News Digital Library, funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and the Council on Library and Information Resources. This collaboration between the Boston Public Library, Cambridge Community television, Northeast Historic Film and WGBH Educational Foundation aims to bring to life local news stories produced in and about Boston from the early 1960’s to 2000.
- The Boston Chinatown Atlas "The Boston Chinatown Atlas, a 15-year effort by Prof Tunney Lee, documents the origins of the Chinese in Boston and how they built Chinatown"
New Reports
- Noncitizens Living in Boston, 2022 (Boston Planning & Development Agency In 2020, there were approximately 97,000 non US citizens living in Boston, making up about 14% of the city's population. This presentation is a profile of these residents. The top countries of origin for noncitizen adults in Boston are China, Dominican Republic, and El Salvador.
- Changing Faces of Greater Boston Changing Faces of Greater Boston is a collaboration between Boston Indicators, the UMass Donahue Institute, the four free-standing research institutes at UMass Boston dedicated to the major communities of color (the Trotter Institute, the Gastón Institute, the Institute for Asian American Studies and the Institute for New England Native American Studies) and faculty from UMass Boston's McCormack Graduate School.
- Asian Americans and the Covid-19 Pandemic: A Multi-Lingual Survey in Greater Boston This survey examined the health, economic, and social impacts of the pandemic on Asian Americans in the Greater Boston area. The study prioritized recruitment of Chinese, Vietnamese, and South Asians with limited income and English proficiency who are often underrepresented in general surveys. Recommendations for Massachusetts lawmakers and agencies responsible for public health, economic and social services, and racial equity are presented at the end.
- Those who Come and Those who Leave: A Profile of Migration, 2022 (Boston Planning & Development Agency) Boston's migration patterns are marked by net positive international migration and net negative regional migration. This presentation profiles residents who move to Boston and those residents who leave Boston to live elsewhere.
- Multiracial in Greater Boston (Boston Indicators) The United States is a nation of immigrants. And so is the region of Greater Boston. We’ve gone through waves of being more and less open to immigration, but the effect across recent generations has been a steadily diversifying population. Not only is racial diversity increasing in the aggregate, but a growing number of families are forming across racial and ethnic lines. Today, for instance, one in five babies born in Massachusetts is of mixed race or Latino ethnicity. The report
Reference & Instruction Librarian
Dorice Moylan
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Pardee Library
dmoylan@bu.edu
Room 318F
Pardee Library
dmoylan@bu.edu
Room 318F
Pardee Library
617-353-4310
Subjects: Business & Management