Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks
An Historical Atlas of Islam by
"An Historical Atlas of Islam" by William C. Brice was originally published by Brill in 1981. In 2001, Brill published a new edition of "An Historical Atlas of Islam / Atlas Historique de l'Islam," completely revised and substantially augmented by Professor Hugh Kennedy.
Location: Available Online and in PrintPublication Date: 2001-12-01
New Encyclopedia of Islam by Location: Mugar Reference X BP40 .G42 2001Publication Date: 2003-01-29The New Encyclopedia of Islam iencompasses the beliefs, practices, history and culture of the Islamic world, in over 1300 entries.
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'An - by
"The Qur'an is the primary religious text for one-fifth of the world's population and has been an object of reverence and of intense study for centuries. Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an contains alphabetically arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an. It is an encyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history, and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies. With over 750 entries, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur'an to appear in Western languages."
Location: Available Online and in Print (Mugar Reference X BP133 .E53 2001)ISBN: 9004114653Publication Date: 2002-09-12
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History This link opens in a new window The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History seeks to cover the entire range and sweep of African history, from the earliest stone tool–using hominids to the most recent religious movements, and from new interpretations of the Mau Mau movement in Kenya to recent reconsideration of the Rwanda genocide and its aftermath.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
This title looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
Location: Mugar Reference X BP40 .E525 2004Publication Date: 2003-12-02
