Image Collections
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
- New York Public Library Digital Library Collections Provides thousands of digital images from the NYPL collections including historical maps, illuminated manuscripts, and prints and photographs. It contains texts and images from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
- Smithsonian Institution Collections Includes millions of records, including images, of resources in the Smithsonian collections.
Film Resources
BU Databases:
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window Screen Studies Collection brings the Film Periodicals Database, Film Index International, and the AFI Catalog together in one site.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Indexes, abstracts, and provides full text of articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes several film reference books. Abstracts late 19th century - present; full text 1930s - present.
- Film Index International This link opens in a new window Provides in-depth indexing of films from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters and biographical information for film personalities. It also includes presentations from international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
Newspapers
Presse féminine
Library Guides
BU Newspaper Databases
- PressReader This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local newspapers, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International, searchable, full text of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Newspaper Portals
- ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers The ICON database is the most comprehensive source of information about significant newspaper collections in print, digital and micro formats.
- Digital French-Language Newspaper Portal - EuroDocs This portal to online French-language newspapers includes publications regardless of geographic location. The emphasis is on historical newspaper holdings; lists of current digital editions can be found in the Internet Public Library and elsewhere. General news is the main focus; specialized, narrow, trade or niche newspapers are not well represented.
- Digital Library of the Caribbean The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. The dLOC partner institutions are the core of dLOC. dLOC partners retain all rights to their materials and provide access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
- Gallica Explore the digital collections of the French National Library by theme, chronological period or geographic region
- Réseau francophone numérique Collects digital documents from participating Francophone countries
