Highlighted Books
The Wiley Handbook on the Cognitive Neuroscience of Learning by
The Wiley Handbook on the Cognitive Neuroscience of Learning charts the evolution of associative analysis and the neuroscientific study of behavior as parallel approaches to understanding how the brain learns that both challenge and inform each other. Covers a broad range of topics while maintaining an overarching integrative approach Includes contributions from leading authorities in the fields of cognitive neuroscience, associative learning, and behavioral psychology Extends beyond the psychological study of learning to incorporate coverage of the latest developments in neuroscientific research
Publication Date: 2016
Sensory Science and Chronic Diseases Clinical Implications and Disease Management by
he textbook provides an overview of the sensory science field in the context of diseases such as obesity and Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). This book brings a summary of the state of the science in key areas and provides examples of translational science from using cellular and rodent models to human clinical trials and community health.
Publication Date: 2021
Smellosophy by
An NRC Handelsblad Book of the Year "Offers rich discussions of olfactory perception, the conscious and subconscious impacts of smell on behavior and emotion." --Science Decades of cognition research have shown that external stimuli "spark" neural patterns in particular regions of the brain. We think of the brain as a space we can map: here it responds to faces, there it perceives a sensation. But the sense of smell--only recently attracting broader attention in neuroscience--doesn't work this way. So what does the nose tell the brain, and how does the brain understand it? A. S. Barwich turned to experts in neuroscience, psychology, chemistry, and perfumery in an effort to understand the mechanics and meaning of odors. She discovered that scents are often fickle, and do not line up with well-defined neural regions. Upending existing theories of perception, Smellosophy offers a new model for understanding how the brain senses and processes odors. "A beguiling analysis of olfactory experience that is fast becoming a core reference work in the field." --Irish Times "Lively, authoritative...Aims to rehabilitate smell's neglected and marginalized status." --Wall Street Journal "This is a special book...It teaches readers a lot about olfaction. It teaches us even more about what philosophy can be." --Times Literary Supplement
Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of Neurochemistry and Molecular Neurobiology by
The Handbook is intended to be a service to the neuroscience community, to help in finding available and useful information, to point out gaps in our knowledge, and to encourage continued studies. It represents the valuable contributions of the many authors of the chapters and the guidance of the editors and most important, it represents support for research in this discipline. Based on the rapid advances in the years since the second edition
Publication Date: 2006
Books: Neurobiology and Neuroscience
Use the BU Library Search to find books or book chapters on your topic or for background information.
Getting Books (or Articles) Not Available at BU
How to obtain books and articles that BU does not own:
-
Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan services allow current BU faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that our ILL staff will obtain from other libraries. Books generally take 2-4 weeks to arrive; articles are generally delivered electronically within 3-7 days.
-
ILL online request forms for all patrons except those affiliated with the Schools of Law and Medicine
-
- BLC Cards. A Boston Library Consortium Card allows the bearer to borrow—in person—circulating material from a member library, just as you would from a BU library. Boston University faculty, staff, and students on the Charles River Campus may obtain a Consortium Card by filling out an application form.
