Background Sources
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics by
The Encyclopedia is the only resource available that focuses exclusively on the expanding role of minorities in U.S. politics. Containing more than 2,000 entries, this two-volume set is divided into four distinct sections covering African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos, and Native Americans. It makes a broad range of information readily accessible, including historical and contemporary biographies, descriptions of major events, and coverage of important legal decisions and organizations.
Location: Mugar Reference X E184.A1 E574 2000ISBN: 9781573561297Publication Date: 1999
The Oxford Handbook of Migration Crises by
The objective of The Oxford Handbook of Migration Crises is to deconstruct, question, and redefine through a critical lens what is commonly understood as "migration crises." The volume covers a wide range of historical, economic, social, political, and environmental conditions that generatemigration crises around the globe. At the same time, it illuminates how the media and public officials play a major role in framing migratory flows as crises. The volume brings together an exceptional group of scholars from around the world to critically examine migration crises and to revisit thenotion of crisis through the context in which permanent and non-permanent migration flows occur.The Oxford Handbook of Migration Crises offers an understanding of individuals in societies, socio-economic structures, and group processes. Focusing on migrants' departures and arrivals in all continents, this comprehensive handbook explores the social dynamics of migration crises, with an emphasison factors that propel these flows as well as the actors that play a role in classifying them and in addressing them. The volume is organized into nine sections. The first section provides a historical overview of the link between migration and crises. The second looks at how migration crises areconstructed, while the third section contextualizes the causes and effects of protracted conflicts in producing crises. The fourth focuses on the role of climate and the environment in generating migration crises, while the fifth section examines these migratory flows in migration corridors andtransit countries. The sixth section looks at policy responses to migratory flows. The last three sections look at the role media and visual culture, gender, and immigrant incorporation play in migration crises.
Location: OnlineISBN: 9780190856908Publication Date: 2019-02-13
Contemporary Immigration in America: a State-By-State Encyclopedia [2 Volumes] by
Immigration continues to be a timely and often-controversial subject, particularly regarding legislation at the state level. While many books cover U.S. immigration, both historical and contemporary, few if any reference works examine the role of contemporary immigration in individual states. This two-volume encyclopedia fills that gap. Chapters address legal, social, political, and cultural issues of immigrant groups on a state-by-state basis and explore immigration trends and issues faced by individual ethnic populations. The encyclopedia will enable students to research the impact, contributions, and issues of immigration for each state to make comparisons between states and regions of the United States and to understand state versus national policies. By combining the history of immigration policy with current information, the work shows readers that many of the issues making news today are the same as those the nation dealt with in past decades. Studying state and local dynamics provide a unique perspective on this history.
ISBN: 9780313399183Publication Date: 2015-02-03
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in Contemporary Politics, Law, and Social Movements by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in Contemporary Politics, Law, and Social Movements (OEPoL) provides a comprehensive source of information on the diverse historical and contemporary experiences of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. Incorporating key material from theacclaimed four-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (OUP, 2005), this ground-breaking publication addresses the significant ways in which the Latino and Latina populations have shaped the political, legal, and social institutions of the United States, with new andupdated scholarship on political movements and organizations, important legal cases, minority-rights laws, and immigration legislation.The two-volume OEPoL contains over 450 topical entries written by key academics, intellectuals, and scholars. The articles range from expansive survey essays, to biographies that document the lives of important individuals in Latino and Latina history, to interdisciplinary entries focused onessential themes and issues. Supplemented by over 50 images and a bibliography of suggested readings for each entry, OEPoL ensures that this timely, increasingly prominent subject receives the reference coverage it deserves.
Location: Fineman and Pappas Law Libraries Pappas Reading Room E184.S75 O968 2015ISBN: 9780199744619Publication Date: 2015-10-07
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database that includes scholarly journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, business, literature, and other subjects.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more. Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including issues relating to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Pew Center for Research: Topics A detailed listing of Pew Research Center polling and demographic topics and subjects.
Find more background/overview sources on:
