Peer-Reviewed Articles
These databases allow you to search articles that have been reviewed by scholars in the authors field and approved by them for publication.
Please note: Some of these databases cover popular sources (books, book reviews, opinion pieces, etc.) as well as scholarly journals. When you search, you can limit your results to peer-reviewed articles.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- Environmental Law Reporter This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive information about environmental law. Use this database to find news and analysis, federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, and administrative decisions affecting environmental law practice. Also find information about federal congressional and agency developments in this field. Information about environmental litigation and international materials round out this resource. The reporter ceased publication in print in 2003, but the News and Analysis section continues to be available in print.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a comprehensive database focused on all aspects of environmental science including conservation, biodiversity, climate, pollution, agriculture and aquaculture, environmental law and policy, urban planning, environmental engineering, and more.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE searches journal articles, government documents, and ebooks relating to human impact on the environment. It covers interdisciplinary topics such as environmental policy, environmental engineering, pollution, conservation, and other areas in which human activities and nature coincide. GreenFILE also contains a cited references feature that allows the user to see what material the author has cited in their publication, and what later publications cite it.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This database is a core general science resource, covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and to use associated journal metrics provided by the vendor.
Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations and theses are books that are written by doctoral and master's degree candidates in order to obtain their degrees. They are peer-reviewed in the sense that they are judged and approved by a committee of scholars, but many professors do not consider them of the same quality as other scholarly literature.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
This database contains indexing and abstracts of American doctoral dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861 and a selection from other countries. Masters level theses are included selectively.
