About this guide
This guide includes selected online, print, and other formatted resources available to you through Boston University Libraries Please note: this guide is a work in progress since I am still curating a wide variety of sources on related topics, including Native Americans and immigrants.
I would very much appreciate your feedback with suggestions for material to be added.
PBS program--A series of films and new specials focused on race in America following the murder of George Floyd on May 25, 2020 with links to related documentaries on African-American history
African American history at the BU Libraries
The B.U. libraries have an excellent collection of resources on African-American history. This selective guide will highlight many useful sources in different formats: print, electronic, microfilm and video. Since it is not possible to provide a comprehensive list of all our African-American library resources, please contact the History bibliographer if you have any questions about the collection.
Collection location
Most of the African-American history collection is housed in Mugar Library but many materials can also be found in the Fineman and Pappas Law Library and the Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center, among other locations. The collections include microfilm editions of important research materials, including personal papers and newspapers and magazines.
If you want to recommend a library book purchase, please contact us and we will consider obtaining the title if it meets our collection guidelines.
