Skip to Main Content
Creative Commons Image Search
Use this prototype to find images that you can use and remix across several open archives.
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
DPLA: Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
Sex & Sexuality (AM Explorer)
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.
Exhibit Sources: Podcasts & Films
60 minutes. Love in the 21st century (streaming, Academic Video Online)
What are singles doing to find love in the 21st century? Correspondent Bob Simon takes a look at what single Americans are doing to find love in the 21st century. It ranges from new high-tech services on the Internet to parties that will make your head spin. And it has transformed the business methods of the second-oldest profession in the world - the matchmaker.
The Bro Code: How Contemporary Culture Creates Sexist Men (streaming, Kanopy)
Filmmaker Thomas Keith takes aim at the forces in male culture that condition boys and men to dehumanize and disrespect women. Keith breaks down a range of contemporary media forms that are saturated with sexism -- movies and music videos that glamorize misogyny; pornography that trades in the brutalization of women; comedy routines that make fun of sexual assault; and a slate of men's magazines and cable TV shows whose sole purpose is to revel in reactionary myths of American manhood. The message he uncovers in virtually every corner of our entertainment culture is clear: It's not only normal -- but cool -- for boys and men to control and humiliate women. By showing how there's nothing natural or inevitable about this mentality, and by setting it against the terrible reality of men's violence against women in the real world, The Bro Code challenges young people to step up and fight back against the idea that being a real man means disrespecting women.
Working Girls (DVD)
Sex work is portrayed with radical nonjudgment in Lizzie Borden's immersive, richly detailed look at the rhythms and rituals of society's most stigmatized profession. Inspired by the experiences of the sex workers Borden met while making her underground feminist landmark Born in Flames, Working Girls reveals the textures of a day in the life of Molly (Louise Smith), a photographer working part-time in a Manhattan brothel, as she juggles a steady stream of clients, balances relationships with her coworkers with the demands of an ambitious madam, and above all fights to maintain her sense of self in a business in which the line between the personal and professional is all too easily blurred.
Is the tinder app for more than hook-ups? (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Sean Rad, Tinder CEO and co-founder, discusses his company's dating app and plans for the future on Bloomberg Television's Market Makers.
Finding love on the go (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Tinder CEO discusses the company's sharing app with Deirdre Bolton on Bloomberg Television's 'Money Moves.'
Searching for love the growth of online dating (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Spark Networks President and CEO Greg Liberman discusses the growth of online dating with Emily Chang on Bloomberg Television's 'Bloomberg West.'
Horizon. [Season 52, Episode 7], How to find love online (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Internet dating has transformed our love lives. One in five committed couples meet on the internet and 91 million of us around the world log on to internet dating sites. Dr Xand van Tulleken is one of them. An expert in public health issues at Fordham University in New York, he is hopelessly single, and looking for love. Can Dr Hannah Fry, lecturer in mathematics at University College London, use her statistical know-how to help secure him the partner of his dreams?
The lucrative business of infidelity (streaming, Academic Video Online)
Ashley Madison CEO Noel Biderman and his wife Amanda Biderman discuss the success of the company's 'dating' site for married people seeking an affair with Pimm Fox on Bloomberg Television's 'Taking Stock.'
Researching Online Dating (SAGE Research Methods Core)
Taha Yasseri, PhD, associate professor, School of Sociology, University College, Dublin, discusses online dating research, including the history of online dating, online dating
Developing a Data-Driven Dating App: Bristlr (SAGE Research Methods Core)
John Kershaw, founder and CEO of Bristlr, discusses the development of the dating app, Bristlr, that matches people who have beards with those who like to stroke beards. The challenges of ensuring privacy and data protection when developing dating apps, as well as some of the surprising results gathered from the data, are highlighted.
Exhibit Sources: Current News
Boston Globe 1980+ This link opens in a new window
Date coverage: 1980 - present. Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). For earlier editions use Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Date coverage: 2008 to 2 months ago.
Exhibit Source: Data
With Datinng Apps, We Doubt Them But Won't Drop Them (BU College of Communication)
Americans doubt dating apps are the best way to find a successful relationship and they certainly don’t trust them – but they’re apparently unwilling to give up on apps like Match, Tinder and Hinge in the search for their true soulmate. Those are some of the takeaways from the latest Media & Technology Survey designed by Boston University’s College of Communication and conducted by Ipsos earlier this month.