Selected Newspaper Databases
- Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975) This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the African American newspaper Chicago Defender under all its title variants.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest News & Newspapers allows searching across a wide range of ProQuest newspaper databases include ProQuest Historical Newspapers, International Newsstream, Canadian Major Dailies, Ethnic Newswatch, and the Boston Globe. These databases can also be searched separately.
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Historical Newspaper Databases
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new windowEyewitness accounts of historical events, ads and genealogical records published in popular 19th century newspapers including African-American publications.
- African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new windowThe African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of American magazines published between 1684 and 1912. Covers history of slavery, literature, women's and religious issues, politics, culture, the arts and foreign language journals published in the U.S. Rights for use by Boston University community supported by the Boston University Humanities Library Endowed Fund.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for specific access information and to search that publication separately. Additional content for some titles is added on a one year rolling basis.
Featured Local Newspaper Collection
- The Boston BannerAlso known as the Bay State Banner, the Boston Banner is an African American owned news weekly that reports on the political, economic, social and cultural issues that are of interest to African American and English speaking Latinos in Boston and throughout New England. Full-text coverage dates include1992 (Vol. 27, no. 24) - present.
