Exhibit Sources Spotlight: Archival Primary Source Databases
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975The resource allows users to study this exciting period using manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. The interactive chronology, extensive visual resources and video footage provide valuable contextual background to the materials included in this collection.
"Anti-Vietnam Marchers Protest in Aldwych, London." Photograph from Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975.
- African American Police League Records (1961 – 1988) This link opens in a new window Contains annual and general reports, court files, fundraising items, historical information, minutes, correspondence, clippings, topical files, newsletters, police brutality files, and publications and flyers relative to the ongoing work of the African American Police League (AAPL) and its education and action arm, the League to Improve the Community (LIC). The collection also contains items on numerous law enforcement and civil rights organizations across the country; materials on the suspension of AAPL executive director Renault Robinson from the Chicago Police Department and related lawsuits; and materials pertaining to the National Black Police Association (NBPA).
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window Contains records of civil rights organizations and personal papers on African American life in the 20th century. Also contains collections from federal government agencies and records on the major milestones and events in the civil rights movement.
- Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files (1960 - 1969) This link opens in a new window Contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats in Asia, Africa, the Middle East, Europe, and Asia, including reports on political, military, and socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; and reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers.
- FBI Confidential Files: Radical Politics in the US (1945 - 1972) This link opens in a new window This collection covers investigations and tracking of the activities of Communist groups, Communist-front groups, and other left-wing organizations in the U.S. by the FBI and the Subversive Activities Control Board from 1945-1972. It includes files from the office of FBI director J. Edgar Hoover, many of which were originally intended to be destroyed but were preserved through both intended and inadvertent exceptions to Hoover’s orders.
- Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records (1880 - 1990) This link opens in a new window This database includes records of the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance. The NWP was founded in 1913 when Alice Paul and colleagues broke away from the National American Woman Suffrage Association in dissent over strategy and tactics. The WAA, established in 1971, concerned itself with issues such as employment, childcare, health care, and education. The LWV collection covers women's involvement in U.S. politics from 1920 to 1974.
- Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy (1960 - 1975) This link opens in a new window Documents in this collection trace the actions and decisions at the highest levels of the U.S. foreign policy apparatus, as well as events on the ground in Vietnam, from the perspective of State Department officials, Associated Press reporters, and members of the U.S. Armed forces, including the Marines and the Military Assistance Command Vietnam.
Exhibit Sources: News Media
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for specific access information and to search that publication separately. Additional content for some titles is added on a one year rolling basis.
Boston Globe front page, July 21, 1969. From ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window Streaming video of news and commercials from NBC and CNN plus searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, Fox News, and other channels.
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
