Historical Newspapers
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window Eyewitness accounts of historical events, ads and genealogical records published in popular 19th century newspapers including African-American publications.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Fully searchable digital images of newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries.
- Times Digital Archive (London, 1785 - 2019) This link opens in a new window An online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in The Times (London) to 2019. Full page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text. NOTE: For 2019+ use Nexis Uni.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for specific access information and to search that publication separately. Additional content for some titles is added on a one year rolling basis.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers - Library of Congress "Information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.”
- Chronicling America: US Newspaper Directory "This directory of newspapers published in the United States since 1690 can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them... Titles currently listed: 155,290."
- Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection - Penn State University Libraries Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection contain all the words, photographs, and advertisements from selected newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War.
- New York Tribune: Illustrated Newspaper Supplements, Library of Congress, beginning 1909 From Chronicling America. Front pages.
19th Century US Newspapers. “… full-text content and images. Emphasis on the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life. Available through Boston Public Library with BPL card number. Massachusetts State Residents (BU students) can sign up for a Boston Public Library eCard for remote access.
Newspaper Archive. Boston Globe (1872-1922) and Boston Post (1831-1922). Available through Boston Public Library with BPL card number. Massachusetts State Residents (BU students) can sign up for a Boston Public Library eCard for remote access.
Historical Magazines
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- History of American Magazines, 1741-1930, by Frank Luther Mott A comprehensive history of the general development of American magazines and separate sketches of individual magazines. Many of the magazines are available full text in the American Periodicals database.
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907 See also: Nineteenth century readers' guide to periodical literature., 1890-1899, with supplementary indexing., 1900-1922. Mugar Reference XA13.F44. Cumulated magazine subject index, 1907-1949. Mugar Reference XA13 .F64.
- Harper's Weekly: Journal of Civilization For entire run: Harper’s Weekly (1857-1912) Full-text searchable page reproductions of the leading 19th century U.S. illustrated journal, browsable by date, subject, and page thumbnails. Only available at Boston Public Library.
- Modernist Journal Project - Brown University & University of Tulsa "The historical scope of the project has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922, and a geographical range that extends to wherever English language periodicals were published."
- Pulp Magazine Project: an [open access] archive of all-fiction pulpwood magazines from 1896-1946 The Pulp Magazines Project is an open-access digital archive dedicated to the study and preservation of one of the twentieth century's most influential literary & artistic forms: the all-fiction pulpwood magazine.
- LIFE Google Books (magazines online 1936-1972)
