Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks
Biographical Sources
AmericanAbolitionists.com
The purpose of this website is to provide a comprehensive history of the abolition and anti-slavery movements in the United States, from the Colonial period until 1865. This includes a social, political, and economic history of both slavery in America and its opponents.
African American National Biography by
The African American National Biography presents history through a mosaic of the lives of thousands of individuals, illuminating the abiding influence of persons of African descent on the life of this nation from the arrival of Esteban in Spanish Florida in 1529 through to notable black citizens of the present day. Available initially as a handsome eight-volume set containing over 4,000 entries written and signed by distinguished scholars, the AANB continues to grow along with the field of African American biographical research, and continuous updates to the online edition will bring the total number of lives profiled to more than 5,000. This is a remarkable achievement, an eightfold increase over the number of biographies contained in 2004's award-winning and substantial African American Lives. In addition to Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, W. E. B. Du Bois and Martin Luther King Jr., the AANB includes a wide range of African Americans from all time periods and all walks of life, both famous and nearly-forgotten. In the words of AANB editor Henry Louis Gates, Jr., "These stories, long buried in the dusty archives of history, will never be lost again. And that is what scholarship in the field of African American Studies should be all about."
Location: Available at Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (E185.96 .A4466 2008 )ISBN: 9780195160192Publication Date: 2008-02-18
Black index : Afro-Americana in selected periodicals, 1907-1949 by Location: Available at Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (Z1361.N39 N58 )Publication Date: 1981
Black Women in America by Publication Date: 2005Includes over 335 biographies, many newly prepared for this publication Offers sidebars on interesting aspects of the history and culture of black women * Provides a bibliography for each entry, plus a major bibliographical essay * Features a chronology and a comprehensive index
Civil Rights in the United StatesLocation: Law Library Pappas Reading Room - Library Use Only (E184.A1 C58 2000 )Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Publication Date: 1995
The Encyclopedia of African American Military History by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (UB418.A47 W45 2004 )Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century by
While other resources focus on different aspects of this century, such as the Civil War or immigration, this is the first truly comprehensive treatment to cover all aspects of 19th century history: population, politics and government, economy and work, society and culture, religion, social problems and reform, everyday life, and foreign policy are explored in more than 600 A-to-Z articles. Complete with more than 400 illustrations and maps, this set includes an exhaustive year-by-year chronology, original documents, tables and a complete index.
Location: Mugar Reference X E169.1 .E626 2001Publication Date: 2000
My Soul Is a Witness: A Chronology of the Civil Rights Era, 1954-1965 by Location: Mugar Reference XE185.61 .C697ISBN: 0805047697Publication Date: 2000
The Oxford Handbook of Slavery in the Americas by Location: Fineman and Pappas Law Libraries Course Reserve HT1048 .O94 2010Publication Date: 2010
