Related Guides
Background Sources
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more. Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including coverage of issues relating to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Historical dictionary of medical ethics Medical ethics is the disciplined study of medical morality, with two goals: critically appraising current medical morality and identifying how it should be improved.
- A Dictionary of Ethics (Oxford, 2020) This authoritative dictionary contains clear, concise definitions of key terms from ethical theory and touches upon a variety of relevant subfields including metaethics, normative ethics, and applied ethics.
- The Oxford Handbook of Practical Ethics The Oxford Handbook of Practical Ethics is a lively and authoritative guide to current thought about ethical issues in all areas of human activity — personal, medical, sexual, social, political, judicial, and international — from the natural world to the world of business. Twenty-eight topics are covered in specially written surveys by leading figures in their fields: each gives an authoritative map of the ethical terrain, explaining how the debate has developed in recent years, engaging critically with the most notable work in the area, and pointing directions for future work.
- Conjoined Twins : An Historical, Biological and Ethical Issues Encyclopedia This encyclopedia presents entries on conjoined twins throughout history, the biological causes and effects of twins being born conjoined, and ethical issues such as self-support and separation surgery.
- The Oxford Handbook of Bioethics The Oxford Handbook of Bioethics is an authoritative, state-of-the-art guide to current issues in bioethics. Thirty articles address both perennial issues, such as the methodology of bioethics, autonomy, justice, death, and moral status, and newer issues, such as bio-banking, stem cell research, cloning, pharmacogenomics, and bioterrorism.
- The Oxford Handbook of Ethical Theory The Oxford Handbook of Ethical Theory is a reference work in ethical theory, consisting of articles by leading moral philosophers. Ethical theories have always been of central importance to philosophy, and remain so—ethical theory is one of the most active areas of philosophical research and teaching today. Courses in ethics are taught in colleges and universities at all levels, and ethical theory is the organizing principle for all of them.
- The International Encyclopedia of Ethics Unmatched in scholarship and scope, The International Encyclopedia of Ethics is the definitive single-source reference work on Ethics. Comprises over 700 entries, ranging from 1000 to 10,000 words in length, written by an international cast of subject experts.
- The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice presents an extensive and cutting-edge introduction to the diverse, rapidly growing body of research on pressing issues of environmental justice and injustice. With wide-ranging discussion of current debates, controversies, and questions in the history, theory, and methods of environmental justice research, contributed by over 90 leading social scientists, natural scientists, humanists, and scholars.
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy joins the suite of other Macmillan applied ethics titles: Encyclopedia of Bioethics and the Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics. Additional features include 200 photographs and illustrations, thematic outline, annotated bibliography, and a comprehensive index.
- A Companion to Environmental Philosophy A Companion to Environmental Philosophy is a pioneering work in the burgeoning field of environmental philosophy. This ground-breaking volume contains thirty-six original articles exemplifying the rich diversity of scholarship in this field. Contains thirty-six original articles, written by international scholars. Traces the roots of environmental philosophy through the exploration of cultural traditions from around the world. Brings environmental philosophy into conversation with other fields and disciplines such as literature, economics, ecology, and law. Discusses environmental problems that stimulate current debates.
- The Oxford Handbook of the History of Ethics Philosophical ethics consists in the human endeavour to answer rationally the fundamental question of how we should live. The Oxford Handbook of the History of Ethics explores the history of philosophical ethics in the western tradition from Homer until the present day, providing a broad overview of the views of many of the main thinkers, schools, and periods, and including in addition chapters on such topics as autonomy and impartiality. The authors illuminate the relevance of their work to discussions in contemporary ethics.
- The Cambridge Companion to Mill John Stuart Mill (1806–73) ranks among the very greatest thinkers of the nineteenth century. His impact through his books, journalism, correspondence, and political activity on modern culture and thought has been immense, and his continuing importance for contemporary philosophy and social thought is widely recognised. This Companion furnishes the reader with a systematic and fully up-to-date account of the many facets of Mill's thought and influence. New readers will find this the most convenient and accessible guide to Mill currently available. Advanced students and specialists will find a conspectus of recent developments in the interpretation of Mill.
- The Cambridge Companion to Kant The fundamental task of philosophy since the seventeenth century has been to determine whether the essential principles of both knowledge and action can be discovered by human beings unaided by an external agency. No one philosopher contributed more to this enterprise than Kant, whose Critique of Pure Reason (1781) shook the very foundations of the intellectual world. Kant argued that the basic principles of the natural science are imposed on reality by human sensibility and understanding, and thus that human beings are also free to impose their own free and rational agency on the world. This 1992 volume is the only systematic and comprehensive account of the full range of Kant's writings available, and the first major overview of his work to be published in more than a dozen years. An internationally recognised team of Kant scholars explore Kant's conceptual revolution in epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of science, moral and political philosophy, aesthetics, and the philosophy of religion.
- The Cambridge Companion to Nietzsche The significance of Friedrich Nietzsche for twentieth century culture is now no longer a matter of dispute. He was quite simply one of the most influential of modern thinkers. The opening essay of this 1996 Companion provides a chronologically organised introduction to and summary of Nietzsche's published works, while also providing an overview of their basic themes and concerns. It is followed by three essays on the appropriation and misappropriation of his writings, and a group of essays exploring the nature of Nietzsche's philosophy and its relation to the modern and post-modern world. The final contributions consider Nietzsche's influence on the twentieth century in Europe, the USA, and Asia.
- The Oxford Handbook of Nietzsche his Handbook offers several papers on Nietzsche’s main philosophical topics supplemented with sets of papers dealing with biography, relations with other philosophers, and his individual works. Topics covered by the papers include Nietzsche’s biography, family, attitude towards women, his sickness and madness, his interest in the views of other philosophers, his principal works, values, epistemology and metaphysics, and his idea of will to power.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy The purpose of the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia's articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
- The Oxford Handbook of Ethics at the End of Life This handbook explores the topic of death and dying from the late twentieth to the early twenty-first centuries, with particular emphasis on the United States. In this period, technology has radically changed medical practices and the way we die as structures of power have been reshaped by the rights claims of African Americans, women, gays, students, and, most relevant here, patients. Respecting patients’ values has been recognized as the essential moral component of clinical decision making.
- The Oxford Handbook of Public Health Ethics Public health is fundamentally concerned with promoting the health of populations through the prevention of disease and injury. It is, at its core, a moral endeavor, because the end it seeks is the advancement of human well-being. Vexing ethics issues are inherent in all aspects of public health practice and policy. They exist in top-of-the-news stories like infectious disease outbreaks and vaccine hesitancy, health disparities, and in more routine assessments of population health needs, data collection, program evaluation, and policy development.
