Thnk.Check.Submit
Think,Check,Submit. is a checklist developed and maintained by the Committee of Publishing Ethics(Cope), the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), and other participating organizations. It features key questions to consider as you evaluate a journal for your potential publications.
Quick Links
- Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window Ulrichsweb provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Entries provide ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window Journal Citation Reports allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from science and social science journals from publishers in more than 80 countries. It shows research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and the relationship between citing and cited journals.
Questions to Consider
These are some helpful questions to consider as you look for the right journal for your article submission:
- Who is your intended audience? Are you looking to reach other researchers, the general public, or health care professionals? Checking both Ulrich's and the journal's website will give you a sense of the journal's intended audience.
- Do you want to publish in a peer-reviewed journal? Check Ulrich's to see if a specific journal titles is peer-reviewed.
- Is impact factor important to you? Journal Citation Reports or ScIImago has information about a journal's impact factor.
- Are you interest in publishing in an open-access journal? Browse through the Directory of Open Access Journals or check the journal's website to find out if the journal offers an open-access option, or if you can place a version of your article in OpenBU.
Tools for Selecting a Journal
- SPI-Hub Scholarly PublishingSponsored by the Vanderbuilt School of Medicine, Spi-Hub allows you to search for journals by keyword, and it includes information about a journal's metrics.
- JANE: Journal/Author Name EstimatorSponsored by the Biosemantics Group, JANE allows you to input your article abstract and search for potential journal matches.
- Springer Journal SuggesterLike Jane, SpringerNature Journal Suggester will suggest journal titles based on the abstract of your paper. SpringerNature is narrower in scope than JANE because it only searches Springer and BMC publications.
- Wiley: Find a JournalLike Jane, Wiley will suggest journal titles based on the abstract of your paper. Wiley is narrower in scope than JANE because it only searches Wiley publications.
- PubMed Journal FinderThis tool allows you to enter up to five PMIDS (PubMed IDs) that are related to your research. It will generate a list of relevant publications.
Tip: Search for Similar Articles in Our Online Databases
Searching our online databases for articles that that cover topics similar to yours is one way to identify potential journal matches for your own article. Type in keywords that describe your topic into our databases and see if there is a recurring journal title in the citations yielded by your search. Here are key databases in the health & rehabilitation sciences:
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window Covers journal publications from the nursing and allied health professions. While it primarily covers journal citations, it also includes book chapter abstracts, dissertations, and conference abstracts. Date coverage: 1981 - present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of abstracts to the biomedical literature. Includes medicine, the allied health disciplines, and biomedical literature. Date Coverage: 1809 (selectively) - present.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycInfo provides access to journal articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that cover the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. It includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Date coverage: 1894-
- Embase This link opens in a new window Embase.com is the database equivalent of EXCERPTA MEDICA. It is a comprehensive, international database covering Anesthesiology, Human Genetics, Gerontology, Drug Research, Pharmacology, Drug Side Effects and Interactions, Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental), including Pediatrics and Obstetrics & Gynecology, Basic Biological Sciences, Biotechnology, Biomedicine, Health Policy and Management, Pharmacoeconomics, Public and Occupational Health, Environmental Health, Pollution Control, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Alternative and Complementary Medicine, Nursing.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science is one of the core general science databases covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and allows the user to search conference proceedings.
