Skip to Main Content
Data, Statistics, & Public Opinion Sources
World Religion Database This link opens in a new window
The World Religion Database contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion for the period 1900 to 2050.
World Christian Database This link opens in a new window
Provided detailed statistics on religious activities, growth rates, religious literature, worker activity, and demography for Christian denominations and other world religions. Additional secular data is included on population, health, education, languages,
and communication in cities and regions of the world.
World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) contains statistics from over 200 countries including social, economic and financial indicators.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is the bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. OKR contains research from thousands of works including World Bank published books, World Development Reports, Policy Research Working Papers, Economic and Sector Work studies, journal articles, and World Bank Group annual reports and independent evaluation studies.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaced SourceOECD in July 2010. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
Pew Research Center: Jainism
6 Facts about Jainism in India (Pew Research Center)
Today, a sliver of India’s population (0.4%) identifies as Jain, making it the smallest of the country’s six major religious groups after Hinduism, Islam, Christianity, Sikhism and Buddhism. Indians overall know very little about this ancient religion and its practices, according to a June 2021 Pew Research Center report based on a survey of nearly 30,000 Indians. Here are six facts about Jains in India, from the report.
Religion in India: Tolerance and Segregation (Pew Research Center)
A major new Pew Research Center survey of religion across India, based on nearly 30,000 face-to-face interviews of adults conducted in 17 languages between late 2019 and early 2020 (before the COVID-19 pandemic), finds that Indians of all these religious backgrounds overwhelmingly say they are very free to practice their faiths.