Skip to Main Content
Data, Statistics & Public Opinion
2015 U.S. Transgender Survey
The 2015 U.S. Transgender Survey (USTS) is the largest survey ever devoted to the lives and experiences of transgender people, with 27,715 respondents across the United States. The USTS was conducted by the National Center for Transgender Equality in the summer of 2015, and the results provide a detailed look at the experiences of transgender people across a wide range of areas, such as education, employment, family life, health, housing, and interactions with police and prisons.
Unerased: Counting Transgender Lives
Database of transgender homicides, 2010-2018.
SpeakOut: Polyvictimization Prevalence Rates for Sexual and Gender Minority Adolescents (ICPSR)
The purpose of the study was to identify lifetime polyvictimization rates by gender identity and sexual orientation, for a national sample of sexual and gender minority adolescents. The study used an anonymous, incentivized, online survey which was completed by 1,177 sexual and gender minority adolescents who were currently enrolled in middle or high school (14 to 19-years-old).
The following data sources have collected sexual orientation data. Information is available here concerning each of these surveys. This information is being uploaded to this website as time permits. You can contact us directly if you would like additional information about any of these data sources or if you know of additional data sources that should be added.
2018 LGBTQ Youth Report (HRC Foundation)
HRC Foundation and the University of Connecticut released the largest-of-its-kind survey ever of more than 12,000 LGBTQ teenagers across the nation, revealing in distressing detail the persistent challenges so many of them face going about their daily lives at home, at school and in their communities.
National Survey on LGBTQ Youth Mental Health 2019 (The Trevor Project)
This is our first wide-ranging report from a cross-sectional national survey of LGBTQ youth across the United States. With over 34,000 respondents, it is the largest survey of LGBTQ youth mental health ever conducted and provides a critical understanding of the experiences impacting their lives.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives This link opens in a new window
The Roper Center is a public opinion archive that preserves the data from polls conducted by many leading survey organizations. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. by more than 150 survey organizations. Direct links are given to study documentation and datasets. Date coverage: 1930s – present.
UCLA School of Law Williams Institute: Reports & Fact Sheets on LGBTQ Youth
The Williams Institute is the leading research center on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy. We ensure that facts — not stereotypes — inform laws, policies, and judicial decisions that affect the LGBT community.
Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than twenty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, and private collections.