Related Guides
Statistics, Data & Public Opinion
- Gun Violence Statistics, Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence Gun violence exacts an enormous toll on Americans—claiming tens of thousands of lives each year. Weak gun laws and unfettered access to firearms have made it far too easy for people to take their own lives and the lives of others. Gun violence shapes the fabric of our society, traumatizing millions and imposing substantial financial burdens that we all share. The below statistics lay out the devastating scope of this uniquely American crisis.
- Historical Hunting License Data, U.S.Fish & Wildlife Service Hunting license information is collected annually from state, territory and insular areas license certifications.
- Gun Violence Archive Gun Violence Archive (GVA) is a not for profit corporation formed in 2013 to provide free online public access to accurate information about gun-related violence in the United States. GVA will collect and check for accuracy, comprehensive information about gun-related violence in the U.S. and then post and disseminate it online.
- Gun Violence in America, Everytown for Gun Safety n order to illustrate the magnitude of everyday gun violence, Everytown has gathered the most comprehensive, publicly available data. Still, significant data gaps remain—a result of underfunded, incomplete data collection at the state and federal level. Filling these gaps is necessary to truly understand the full impact of gun violence in the United States.
- Gun Deaths in the U.S., Pew Research Center The recent mass shootings in El Paso, Texas, and Dayton, Ohio – along with a spate of shootings in Chicago – have brought renewed attention to deadly gun violence in the United States. As President Donald Trump and lawmakers on Capitol Hill contemplate policy responses, here are 10 common questions about gun deaths in the U.S., with answers based on data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the FBI and other sources
- Estimating Global Civilian-Held Firearms Numbers (Small Arms Survey) In a new Briefing Report, the Small Arms Survey presents its findings on the number of firearms held by civilians. The Survey estimates that of the one billion firearms in global circulation as of 2017, 857 million (85 per cent) are in civilian hands.The US has an estimated 393,300,000 firearms, at a rate of 120.5 firearms for every 100 residents.
- Firearms Statistics (ATF) Available from no other source, this comprehensive collection of ATF-related data from national surveys, state-based surveys, other collected license statistics, and other data sources documents trends in firearms, commerce and use of federal services in the United States.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series.
- Web-Based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System "CDC’s WISQARS™ (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources. Researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public can use WISQARS™ data to learn more about the public health and economic burden associated with unintentional and violence-related injury in the United States."
- General Social Survey, Includes annual estimate of the prevalence of household firearm ownership in the U.S.
- Small Arms Survey Our main objective is to reduce the illicit proliferation of small arms and light weapons and their impacts. We generate policy-relevant research and analysis, and provide both resources (publications, podcasts and a wide range of relevant outputs) and services (training and capacity-building). The Small Arms Survey also manages five major global databases.
- Roper Center Public Opinion Archives This link opens in a new window The Roper Center is a public opinion archive that preserves the data from polls conducted by many leading survey organizations. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. by more than 150 survey organizations. Direct links are given to study documentation and datasets.
Featured Map
- U.S. Mass Shootings Data Set, Mother Jones This dataset originally covered 1982-2012 and has since been expanded through 2017.
- A Guide to Mass Shootings in America, Mother Jones n July 2012, in the aftermath of the movie theater massacre in Aurora, Colorado, Mother Jones created the first open-source database documenting mass shootings in the United States. Our research has focused on indiscriminate rampages in public places resulting in four or more victims killed by the attacker. We exclude shootings stemming from more conventional crimes such as armed robbery or gang violence.
- Global Mortality From Firearms, 1990-2016 (JAMA, Aug 2018) This study provides an estimate of the global burden of firearms deaths in 2016, change in this burden from 1990, and variation in levels and rates among countries.
