Citing Your Sources
Proper citation is an essential aspect of scholarship. Citing properly allows your reader or audience to locate the materials you have used. Most importantly, citations give credit to the authors of quoted or consulted information. Failure to acknowledge sources of information properly may constitute plagiarism. For an explicit definition of plagiarism, see the Boston University Academic Conduct Code.
For detailed instructions on how to cite within the text of your paper, please consult a style manual listed below. Please also note: some of the resources below do not cover every possibility you might encounter when trying to cite your sources. For this reason, it is suggested that you consult a style manual to create your bibliography.
BU Librarians often recommend 
RefWorks as the best tool to manage citations and most importantly RefWorks can automatically create a bibliography in hundreds of styles. Accounts are free for the BU community so only use your bu.edu email address when creating an account. There are other such tools.
Chicago Style
- The Chicago Manual of Style OnlineNote: Full text online includes 16th and 17th editions.
- Citation Quick GuideA Chicago Style Q&A and a Tools section featuring sample forms, letters and style sheets.
- Citation Guide (HBS)This excellent guide in .PDF from the Harvard Business School covers citation within text as well as how to do a bibliography using Chicago style.
Chicago Style Sample Citations: Note- initially no indent and then following lines indented.
Print Sources
Book (Print):
Gratton, Lynda. 2014. The Key: How Corporations Succeed by Solving the World’s Toughest Problems. New York: McGraw-Hill Education.
Electronic Databases (BU Databases):
Bloomberg (Electronic Database):
Historical Price Line Chart for Apple, Inc. August 1, 2014 – September 30, 2014. Bloomberg LP. Accessed October 17, 2014.
MarketLine Company Profile via Business Source Complete:
“Company Profile: Apple Inc., 19 September 2014.” MarketLine Report via Business Source Complete. Accessed October 17, 2014. http://web.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.bu.edu.
Mergent Online (SEC/EDGAR filing in BU Database):
Apple, Inc. Form 10-K. September 28, 2013. Mergent Online. Accessed October 17, 2014. http://www.mergentonline.com.ezproxy.bu.edu/.
Mintel Reports (Electronic Database):
“Mobile Apps – US – October 2014.” Mintel. Accessed October 17, 2014. http://academic.mintel.com.ezproxy.bu.edu/display/679805/.
SRDS Online (Electronic Database): “U.S. News & World Report Profile.”
“U.S. News & World Report Profile.” SRDS Media Solutions. Accessed October 17, 2014. http://next.srds.com.ezproxy.bu.edu/.
University Reporter (Electronic Database):
“Spring 2014 Apparel/Accessories.” University Reporter. Accessed February 23 2016. http://www.gfkmrismartsystem.com.ezproxy.bu.edu/.
Article from a BU Database:
ABI/Inform Complete
Overman, Steven. 2014. “The Culture of Conscience.” Leadership Excellence 31, no. 10 (October): 49-51. ABI-Inform Complete. Accessed October 17, 2014. http://search.proquest.com.ezproxy.bu.edu/docview/1612273015?accountid=9676.
Online Source
Annual Report Available Online:
Apple, Inc. 2018. "Form 10-K for the Fiscal Year Ended September 29, 2018." Apple Inc. website. Accessed October 17, 2019. https://investor.apple.com/investor-relations/.
The Chicago Manual of Style by
The Fifteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription Website. The same content from The Chicago Manual of Style is in both versions. In the 1890s, a proofreader at the University of Chicago Press prepared a single sheet of typographic fundamentals intended as a guide for the University community. That sheet grew into a pamphlet, and the pamphlet grew into a book—the first edition of the Manual of Style, published in 1906. Now in its fifteenth edition, The Chicago Manual of Style—the essential reference for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers in any field—is more comprehensive and easier to use than ever before. Those who work with words know how dramatically publishing has changed in the past decade, with technology now informing and influencing every stage of the writing and publishing process. In creating the fifteenth edition of the Manual, Chicago''s renowned editorial staff drew on direct experience of these changes, as well as on the recommendations of the Manual''s first advisory board, composed of a distinguished group of scholars, authors, and professionals from a wide range of publishing and business environments. Every aspect of coverage has been examined and brought up to date—from publishing formats to editorial style and method, from documentation of electronic sources to book design and production, and everything in between. In addition to books, the Manual now also treats journals and electronic publications. All chapters are written for the electronic age, with advice on how to prepare and edit manuscripts online, handle copyright and permissions issues raised by technology, use new methods of preparing mathematical copy, and cite electronic and online sources. A new chapter covers American English grammar and usage, outlining the grammatical structure of English, showing how to put words and phrases together to achieve clarity, and identifying common errors. The two chapters on documentation have been reorganized and updated: the first now describes the two main systems preferred by Chicago, and the second discusses specific elements and subject matter, with examples of both systems. Coverage of design and manufacturing has been streamlined to reflect what writers and editors need to know about current procedures. And, to make it easier to search for information, each numbered paragraph throughout the Manual is now introduced by a descriptive heading. Clear, concise, and replete with commonsense advice, The Chicago Manual of Style, fifteenth edition, offers the wisdom of a hundred years of editorial practice while including a wealth of new topics and updated perspectives. For anyone who works with words, whether on a page or computer screen, this continues to be the one reference book you simply must have. What''s new in the Fifteenth Edition: * Updated material throughout to reflect current style, technology, and professional practice * Scope expanded to include journals and electronic publications * Comprehensive new chapter on American English grammar and usage by Bryan A. Garner (author of A Dictionary of Modern American Usage) * Updated and rewritten chapter on preparing mathematical copy * Reorganized and updated chapters on documentation, including guidance on citing electronic sources * Streamlined coverage of current design and production processes, with a glossary of key terms * Descriptive headings on all numbered paragraphs for ease of reference * New diagrams of the editing and production processes for both books and journals, keyed to chapter discussions * New, expanded Web site with special tools and features for Manual users at www.chicagomanualofstyle.org.
Location: Pardee Reference X Z253.U69 2003Publication Date: 2003
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Seven editions and more than nine million copies later, the name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.
Location: Pardee Reference X LB2369 .T8 2013Publication Date: 2013
American Psychological Association (APA) Style Manuals
APA Sample Citations: Note- initially no indent and then following lines indented.
Print Source:
Book (Print):
Gratton, L. (2014). The Key: How Corporations Succeed by Solving the World’s Toughest Problems. New York: McGraw-Hill Education.
Electronic Databases (BU Databases)
Bloomberg (Electronic Database):
Bloomberg L.P. (2014). Historical Price Line Chart for Apple, Inc. 11/1/03 to 11/1/04. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from Bloomberg L.P.
MarketLine Company Profile via Business Source Complete:
MarketLine Report. (2014, September 19). Company Profile: Apple Inc. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from Business Source Complete database.
Mergent Online (SEC/EDGAR filing in BU database):
Apple, Inc. (2013, September 28). Form 10-K. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from Mergent Online database.
Mintel Reports (Electronic Database):
Mintel. (2014, October). Mobile Apps – US – October 2014. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from Mintel Reports database.
SRDS online (Electronic Database)
SRDS Media Solutions. (n.d.). U.S. News & World Report Profile. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from SRDS Media Solutions database.
University Reporter (Electronic Database):
University Reporter. (2014, Spring). 2014 Spring Reporter Apparel/Accessories. Retrieved February 23, 2016 from University Reporter database.
Articles from a BU Database:
ABI/Inform Global
Overman, S. (2014). The Culture of Conscience. Leadership Excellence, 31 (10), 49-51.
Online Sources:
Annual Report Available Online:
Apple Inc.(2013). Apple, Inc. Form 10-K for the Fiscal Year Ended September 28, 2013. Retrieved from http://investor.apple.com/financials.cfm.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Location: Pickering Educational Resources Library Reserve BF76.7 .P83 2020Publication Date: 2019
Modern Language Association (MLA) Style Manuals
- Ask the MLAThe FAQ’s answer recurring questions about the use of this style.
MLA Sample Citations: Note- initially no indent and then following lines indented.
Print Source:
Book (Print):
Gratton, Lynda. The Key: How Corporations Succeed by Solving the World’s Toughest Problems. New York: McGraw-Hill Education, 2014. Print.
Electronic Databases (BU Databases):
Bloomberg (Electronic Database): Bloomberg L.P.
Bloomberg L.P. “Historical Price Line Chart for Apple, Inc. 11/1/03 to 11/1/04." Bloomberg L.P.,2014. Web. 17 October 2014.
MarketLine Company Profile via Business Source Complete:
MarketLine Report. “Company Profile: Apple Inc.” Business Source Complete database, 19 September 2014. Web. 17 October 2014.
Mergent Online (SEC/EDGAR filing in BU database):
Apple, Inc. “Form 10-K," Mergent Online database. 28 September 2013. Web. 17 October 2014.
Mintel (Electronic Database):
Mintel. “Mobile Apps – US ." Mintel database, October 2014. Web. 17 October 2014.
SRDS Online (Electronic Database):
SRDS Media Solutions. “U.S. News & World Report Profile." SRDS Media Solutions,n.d. Web. 17 October 2014.
University Reporter (Electronic Database):
University Reporter. 2014 Spring Reporter Apparel/Accessories. Web. February 23, 2016.
Article from a BU database
ABI/Inform Global
Overman, Steven. “The Culture of Conscience." Leadership Excellence 31.10 (2014): 49-51. ABI-Inform Complete. Web. 17 October 2014.
Online Sources
Annual Report Available Online:
Apple Inc. Apple, Inc. Form 10-K for the Fiscal Year Ended September 28, 2013. Apple Inc., 28 September 2013. Web. 17 October 2014.
MLA Handbook by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Location: Mugar Stacks LB2369 .M52 2021Publication Date: 2021
Selected Web Guides
- Citing Your SourcesThis Boston University research guide offers links to information about citing sources.
- Citing Sources Within Your Paper (Duke University)Duke University is responsible for this well-organized site about citing in the body of your text.
- Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University provides examples of APA, MLA and Chicago Style citations as well as formatting instructions from the style manuals.
