Skip to Main Content
A to Z of Philosophy
Offers more than 100 entries on topics from Animal Ethics to Wittgenstein and includes witty anecdotes and handy tips on further reading. Entries cover all the key concepts and figures in philosophy, but also include philosophical looks at everyday topics such as food, love, happiness and sex.
Cambridge Companions Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Companions present collections of essays written by leading experts in the field on themes, subjects, and key figures in three broad areas: Literature and Classics; Philosophy, Religion, and Culture; and Music.
A Companion to Nineteenth-Century Philosophy
This title covers the developments, setbacks, upsets, and evolutions in the varied philosophy of the nineteenth century, beginning with an examination of Kant's Transcendental Idealism, instrumental in the fundamental philosophical shifts that marked the beginning of this new and radical age in the history of philosophy.
Encyclopedia of Renaissance Philosophy
Gives accurate and reliable summaries of the current state of research. It includes entries on philosophers, problems, terms, historical periods, subjects and the cultural context of Renaissance Philosophy. Furthermore, it covers Latin, Arabic, Jewish, Byzantine and vernacular philosophy, and includes entries on the cross-fertilization of these philosophical traditions.
Encyclopedia of the Philosophy of Law and Social Philosophy
This encyclopedia covers all topics in the philosophy of law and social philosophy, including the history, theory, and leading theorists of the philosophy of law and social philosophy.
Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy
Research on medieval philosophy has advanced greatly in the last thirty years, but there has not been a comprehensive encyclopedia summarizing the current research available. This two-volume reference work fills that void.
The Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy covers all areas of philosophy in the Middle Ages and part of the Renaissance, ranging from 500 to 1500 CE. It contains general entries on medieval philosophers and medieval philosophies and on the key terms and concepts in the subject area, but it also provides more in-depth details and analyses of particular theories.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The purpose of the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia's articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
The International Encyclopedia of Ethics
Unmatched in scholarship and scope, The International Encyclopedia of Ethics is the definitive single-source reference work on Ethics. Comprises over 700 entries, ranging from 1000 to 10,000 words in length, written by an international cast of subject experts.
Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
This bestselling dictionary is written by one of the leading philosophers of our time, and it is widely recognized as the best dictionary of its kind. Comprehensive and authoritative, it covers every aspect of philosophy from Aristotle to Zen.
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
Searchable database of information found in The Oxford companion to classical literature. "This new, third, edition of the Oxford Companion to Classical Literature is a revised version of the second edition, published in 1989. It has been a privilege to be allowed to attempt a second revision of Sir Paul Harvey's original Companion of 1937."
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Philosophy
This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Philosophy covers the history of Greek philosophy through a chronology, an introductory essay, a glossary, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1500 cross-referenced entries on important philosophers, concepts, issues, and events.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Published by Oxford University Press, it is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database containing dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works.
The Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Includes all entries in the Concise Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy, with many now in their full original length from the 1998 10 volume REP, as well as new entries and bibliographical updates from REP online, available since October 2000 on the Internet.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2 ed.)
Featuring 815 articles by distinguished scholars from many fields and countries, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts—from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.
The Blackwell Companion to Substance Dualism
The Blackwell Companion to Substance Dualism sets the stage for rigorous and lively discourse around dualist and physicalist accounts of human persons in philosophy. Chapters explore emergent, Thomistic, Cartesian, and other forms of substance dualism--broadly conceived--in dialogue with leading varieties of physicalism, including animalism, non-reductive physicalism, and constitution theory.
The Palgrave Handbook of the Philosophy of Film and Motion Pictures
This handbook brings together essays in the philosophy of film and motion pictures from authorities across the spectrum. It boasts contributions from philosophers and film theorists alike, with many essays employing pluralist approaches to this interdisciplinary subject.
Selected Background Sources on Philosophers