Skip to main content

Hip Hop

This guide addresses hip hop in relation to music, culture, literature and race.

Archival Collections at Other Institutions

  • Cornell Hip Hop CollectionEstablished in 2007, the Cornell Hip Hop Collection preserves more than 250,000 items across dozens of archives documenting the origins of Hip Hop culture and its spread around the globe.
  • Hiphop Archive & Research InstituteFrom The Hiphop Archive and Research Institute's inception in 2002 under the direction of Harvard University Professor Marcyliena Morgan, students, faculty, artists, staff and other participants in Hiphop culture have been committed to supporting and establishing a new type of research and scholarship devoted to the knowledge, art, culture, materials, organizations, movements and institutions of Hiphop. In response to this exciting and growing intellectual movement The Hiphop Archive and Research Institute serves to organize and develop collections, initiate and participate in research activities, sponsor events and acquire material culture associated with Hiphop in the U.S. and throughout the world. 
  • Hip-Hop and Rap Across the Smithsonian: includes photographs of musicians and of artifacts from their collection.
  • Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture: A branch of the New York Public Library, the Schomburg Center houses numerous collections related to hip hop across the center's divisions .
  • Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Library & Archives: Large archival collection focusing on popular music, including hip-hop.

Librarian

Marci Cohen's picture
Marci Cohen
Contact:
Music Library, Mugar Memorial Library
617-353-3707
Subjects:Music