Skip to Main Content
"The Ethics of Virtual Sexual Assault," In The Oxford Handbook of Digital Ethics
This chapter addresses the growing problem of unwanted sexual interactions in virtual environments. It reviews the available evidence regarding the prevalence and severity of this problem. It then argues that due to the potential harms of such interactions, as well as their non-consensual nature, there is a good prima facie argument for viewing them as serious moral wrongs.
Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior and the Law
Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior and the Law is a single comprehensive volume, written specifically for the non-lawyer, that addresses sexual policy in the United States, as shaped by federal laws, state laws, and court cases.
Handbook on Gender and Violence
Containing contributions from leading experts in the field, this Handbook explores the many ways gender and violence interact across different contexts and offers a range of disciplinary perspectives. This comprehensive work connects micro-level interpersonal violence to macro-level structural forms of violence across three discrete but interrelated sections: concepts, representations, and contexts.
The Wiley Handbook of What Works with Sexual Offenders : Contemporary Perspectives in Theory, Assessment, Treatment, and Prevention
This handbook specifically looks at the topics of sexual offender theory, assessment, rehabilitation, prevention, policy, and risk management.
Campus Sexual Assault: a Reference Handbook
Campus Sexual Assault: A Reference Handbook addresses the difficult questions about the widespread incidence of sexual assault among high school and college students. The book covers the background history of sexual assault on college campuses, discusses how laws regarding sexual assault and the cultural understanding of the crime have evolved over time, and outlines some of the highest-profile cases of sexual assault at U.S. schools.
Encyclopedia of Rape and Sexual Violence
Content illuminates all aspects of this serious issue, including the forms of trauma experienced by survivors/victims; different types of rape, from incest to acquaintance rape to prison rape; specific cases, events, and controversies; laws, policies, movements, and organizations pertaining to the issue; and legal, political, and cultural contributors to rape and other forms of sexual violence.
Encyclopedia of Trauma
Originally a narrow specialty within emergency medicine, the field now extends to trauma psychology, military psychiatry and behavioral health, post-traumatic stress and stress disorders, trauma social work, disaster mental health, and, most recently, the subfield of history and trauma, with sociohistorical examination of long-term effects and meanings of major traumas experienced by whole communities and nations, both natural (Pompeii, Hurricane Katrina) and man-made (the Holocaust, 9/11)
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice is an international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige.
Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
This online edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work includes over 700 articles on all aspects of social work and is updated monthly. It also includes biographies of major figures in the field of social work.
Encyclopedia of Critical Psychology
Encyclopedia of Critical Psychology is a comprehensive reference work and is the first reference work in English that comprehensively looks at psychological topics from critical as well as international points of view.
APA handbook of Trauma Psychology: Foundations in Knowledge
The two volume APA Handbook of Trauma Psychology is the most comprehensive guide, text, and reference work on the subject to date. It provides a survey of all the major areas and subtopics of empirical knowledge and practical applications in the field of trauma psychology, written by top experts in the field. Volume 1 is divided into sections on the nature of trauma, its psychological impact, major conceptual frameworks for understanding traumatization, and trauma as viewed from the diverse perspective of various disciplines.
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory
This two-volume set is designed to serve as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary criminological theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in a context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. The work provides essays on cutting-edge research as well as concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.
Rape and Sexual Assault: A Reference Handbook
This work explains the problem of sexual assault in the United States, including societal factors, notorious cases, laws and practices, victim advocacy and reform efforts, keys to recovery, and the difficulty of prosecuting many offenses. It discusses who the victims and offenders are, and what can be done to reduce the problem. It explores how poor prosecutorial leadership and rape culture have facilitated the problem and how shifts in attitude and policy could prevent them.
Research Handbook on Feminist Jurisprudence
The Research Handbook on Feminist Jurisprudence surveys feminist theoretical understandings of law, including liberal and radical feminism, as well as socialist, relational, intersectional, post-modern, and pro-sex and queer feminist legal theories.