Classic Works
- The History of Sexuality, vol. 1 Michel Foucult offers an iconoclastic exploration of why we feel compelled to continually analyze and discuss sex, and of the social and mental mechanisms of power that cause us to direct the questions of what we are to what our sexuality is.
- Deviations : a Gayle Rubin reader Gayle Rubin laid the foundation for queer theory as a graduate student at Michigan in the early 1970s with the essay 'The Traffic in Women,' which was followed a decade later by an equally influential essay, 'Thinking Sex.'
- Epistemology of the closet Since the late 1980s, queer studies and theory have become vital to the intellectual and political life of the United States. This has been due, in no small degree, to the influence of Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick's critically acclaimed Epistemology of the Closet.
Related Guides
Background Sources
Philosophy Encyclopedias & Handbooks
- "Philosophy of Sexuality," in Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Among the many topics explored by the philosophy of sexuality are procreation, contraception, celibacy, marriage, adultery, casual sex, flirting, prostitution, homosexuality, masturbation, seduction, rape, sexual harassment, sadomasochism, pornography, bestiality, and pedophilia. What do all these things have in common? All are related in various ways to the vast domain of human sexuality.
- "Feminist Perspectives on Sex and Gender," in Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This entry outlines and discusses distinctly feminist debates on sex and gender.
- The Blackwell Guide to Feminist Philosophy The Blackwell Guide to Feminist Philosophy is a definitive introduction to the field, consisting of 15 newly-contributed essays that apply philosophical methods and approaches to feminist concerns. Offers a key view of the project of centering women's experience. Includes topics such as feminism and pragmatism, lesbian philosophy, feminist epistemology, and women in the history of philosophy.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy The purpose of the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia's articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article.
- The Oxford Handbook of Ethical Theory he Oxford Handbook of Ethical Theory is a reference work in ethical theory, consisting of articles by leading moral philosophers. Ethical theories have always been of central importance to philosophy, and remain so—ethical theory is one of the most active areas of philosophical research and teaching today.
- The Oxford Handbook of the History of Ethics he Oxford Handbook of the History of Ethics explores the history of philosophical ethics in the western tradition from Homer until the present day, providing a broad overview of the views of many of the main thinkers, schools, and periods.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy. This link opens in a new window Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy publishes original, peer reviewed, research reviews covering the key issues and exploring major debates in philosophy.
- The Cambridge Companion to Kant An internationally recognised team of Kant scholars explore Kant's conceptual revolution in epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of science, moral and political philosophy, aesthetics, and the philosophy of religion.
- The International Encyclopedia of Ethics Unmatched in scholarship and scope, The International Encyclopedia of Ethics is the definitive single-source reference work on Ethics. Comprises over 700 entries, ranging from 1000 to 10,000 words in length, written by an international cast of subject experts.
- The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Love he Oxford Handbook of the Philosophy of Love offers a wide array of original essays on the nature and value of love. The volume contains three dozen essays addressing both issues about love as well as key philosophers who have contributed to the philosophy of love, such as Plato, Kierkegaard, Schopenhauer, and Murdoch. The topics range from central issues about the nature and variety of love, the possibility of its rational justification, and whether it is an emotion, to the significance of love for law, economics, morality, and free will.
- The Oxford Handbook of Practical Ethics The Oxford Handbook of Practical Ethics is a lively and authoritative guide to current thought about ethical issues in all areas of human activity — personal, medical, sexual, social, political, judicial, and international — from the natural world to the world of business. Twenty-eight topics are covered in specially written surveys by leading figures in their fields: each gives an authoritative map of the ethical terrain, explaining how the debate has developed in recent years, engaging critically with the most notable work in the area, and pointing directions for future work.
Gender & Sexuality Sources
- Gender: Key Concepts in Philosophy Provides clear and comprehensive exposition and analysis of the main philosophical theories, ideas and arguments that inform, and are raised by, questions of gender and sexuality. It explores both early feminist arguments, which stress 'sameness' between sexes in the interests of equality, and later theories, which emphasize difference
- Sex from Plato to Paglia : a Philosophical Encyclopedia This reference book, the first of its kind, offers comprehensive coverage of sexual philosophy. Unlike other works, which explore the biology of sex, this encyclopedia locates sexuality in its broader intellectual and social contexts.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology offers concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts in sociology, written by leading scholars in the field, including several faculty from Boston University. Content dating to 2015 is included. Entries range from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in both classical sociology and contemporary developments in the field.
- Key Concepts in Gender Studies Each of the entries: begins with a concise definition outlines the history of each term and the debates surrounding it includes illustrations of how the concept has been applied within the field offers examples which allow a critical re-evaluation of the concept is cross-referenced with the other key concepts ends with guidance on further reading.
- Routledge Handbook of Body Studies The Handbook's clear, direct style will appeal to a wide undergraduate audience in the social sciences, particularly for those studying medical sociology, gender studies, sports studies, disability studies, social gerontology, or the sociology of religion. It will serve to consolidate the new field of body studies.
- Sex and Gender: A Reference Handbook Readers of this reference book will examine a number of important current issues relating to sex and gender, such as transgenderism, gender dysphoria, same-sex attraction, the development of gender roles, the changing perspectives on these topics, and other controversial and unresolved issues in American society today. The book also includes a Data and Documents chapter that contains laws, courts cases, and other primary documents that relate to current issues involving sex and gender.
- Encyclopedia of Gender and Society The Encyclopedia of Gender and Society covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. This comprehensive encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
- Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender, and Sexuality Consisting entirely of new empirical and theoretical essays by leading and emerging researchers and scholars from around the world, the books maps the historical, theoretical and empirical terrain of gender and sexuality studies in sport.
