Exhibit Sources: Newspapers & Images
-
Boston Globe (1980 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). PLEASE NOTE: For articles published before 1980, please see Boston Globe (1872-1993) via ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
-
Boston Globe (1872 - 1993) This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the newspaper The Boston Globe and its title variants. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 1993, please use Boston Globe 1980 - Present.
-
Boston Herald Historical and Current This link opens in a new window Explore Boston history through local news, events and people with Boston Herald Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Boston Herald Historical, 1848-1992, supported by the Boston University Humanities Library Endowment Fund.
-
ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
-
New York Times (1851 - 2021) This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text of the New York Times back issues. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 2021, please use Nexis Uni. For access to nytimes.com, see New York Times (website access).
-
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local newspapers, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
-
Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
Exhibit Sources: Television Programs & Documentaries
-
60 Minutes: Brutal Watch an Ed Bradley interview with Kevin Weeks, a south Boston native and former right-hand man to James 'Whitey' Bulger, once leader of Boston's Irish mob. Weeks, who has written a book about his association with Bulger, tells about his reaction to learning that Bulger was an FBI informant, and his own decision to cooperate with authorities.
-
60 Minutes: The Gaskos September 11, 2014 - For 16 years, one of the FBI's most wanted men, Boston gangster Whitey Bulger and his girlfriend, managed to elude a worldwide manhunt by living a quiet life in Santa Monica, Calif., as 'Charley and Carol Gasko.' Watch Steve Kroft's report.
-
60 Minutes: The Boston Bombings April 21, 2013 - The inside story of the Boston Marathon bombing investigation: Scott Pelley interviews Boston Police Commissioner Ed Davis.
-
60 Minutes: Manhunt Federal investigators tell Scott Pelley the inside story of the Boston Marathon bombing manhunt a year after the infamous act of terror.
-
60 Minutes: The Executioner January 4, 2008 - In his first interview, infamous Boston mob triggerman John Martorano coolly explains why and how he murdered 20 people to protect his friends, family and his gang's business. Steve Kroft reports.
-
Cop And The Criminal: The Whitey Bulger Story Find out why the FBI cultivated a 15-year relationship with a notorious New England gangster. When people think of the Mafia, it's more than likely that New York or Chicago will come to mind.
-
Our Lady's (streaming, Academic Video Online) Our Lady's is the story of how one Boston suburban parish rose up against the powerful Church hierarchy to demand that their voices be heard. They were horrified when they learned that a popular priest had molested a number of local children years before. When it was revealed that the local church hierarchy, including Boston's Archbishop Cardinal Law, had known about the abuse for years but continued to transfer the suspected priest from parish to parish, their grief turned to collective outrage
Exhibit Sources: Films & Film Scripts
-
Film Scripts Online Volume I: American Film Scripts This link opens in a new window
Contains more than a thousand scripts together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimile images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Supplemental information includes short biographies on the writers and awards given to individual films have been noted.
Browse Films
-
The Friends of Eddie Coyle (dvd) Robert Mitchum plays small-time gunrunner Eddie "Fingers" Coyle in Peter Yates's adaptation of George V. Higgins's acclaimed novel. World-weary and living hand to mouth, Coyle works on the sidelines of the seedy Boston underworld. But when he finds himself facing a second stretch of hard time, he's forced to weigh loyalty to his criminal colleagues against snitching to stay free.
-
Good Will Hunting (dvd) Will Hunting (Matt Damon) is a headstrong, working-class genius, who has one too many run-ins with the law. His last chance to turn himself around is a psychology professor (Robin Williams)
-
Mystic River (dvd) In Clint Eastwood's dark adaptation of Dennis Lehane's novel, three childhood friends from an Irish neighborhood of Boston - Jimmy (Sean Penn), Sean (Kevin Bacon) and Dave (Tim Robbins) - are reunited after the brutal murder of Jimmy's 19-year-old daughter. Their lives are thrown into further disarray as the murder investigation points to Dave, a man still suffering from a devastating childhood trauma
-
Gone, Baby Gone (dvd) Ben Affleck's directorial debut, based on Dennis Lehane's novel, stars his brother, Casey Affleck, in a crime drama. Casey Affleck plays a Boston detective alongside Morgan Freeman, trying to wade through the emotional and professional turmoil that comes from one girl's kidnapping.
-
The Town (dvd) There are over 300 bank robberies in Boston every year. And a one-square-mile neighborhood in Boston, called Charlestown, has produced more bank robbers than anywhere in the U.S. One of them is Doug MacRay (Ben Affleck), the leader of a crew of ruthless bank robbers who pride themselves on taking what they want and getting out clean.
-
Funny Ha Ha (streaming, Kanopy) After being fired from her job, 23-year-old recent college graduate Marnie (Kate Dollenmayer) tries to maintain her humor and dignity - drifting through a series of temp jobs and men, hanging out with friends.
-
Black Mass (dvd) In 1970s South Boston, FBI Agent John Connolly (Joel Edgerton) persuades Irish mobster James "Whitey" Bulger (Johnny Depp) to collaborate with the FBI and eliminate a common enemy: the Italian mob. The drama tells the true story of this unholy alliance, which spiraled out of control, allowing Whitey to evade law enforcement, consolidate power, and become one of the most ruthless and powerful gangsters in Boston history.
-
Spotlight (dvd) Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo, and Rachel McAdams lead a critically acclaimed cast in this gripping true story about the Pulitzer Prize-winning investigation that uncovered a scandal that rocked one of the world's oldest and most trusted institutions. Delving into allegations of child abuse within the local Catholic Archdiocese, a tenacious team of Boston Globe reporters exposes a decades-long cover-up that reaches the highest levels of Boston's religious, legal, and government establishment.
-
The Bostonians (streaming, Kanopy) A faith healer's daughter is forced to choose between the affections of a militant suffragette and a young lawyer in 19th Century Boston. With Christopher Reeve and Vanessa Redgrave. Based on a novel by Henry James.
-
The Thomas Crown Affair (dvd) Directed by Norman Jewison, starring Faye Dunaway and Steve McQueen, THE THOMAS CROWN AFFAIR is an intricate suspense thriller. Vicky Anderson (Dunaway) plays the insurance investigator who has been assigned a high-profile case to solve the mystery behind a bank robbery, which has baffled Boston's finest. Her sleuthing leads to the sophisticated and rich Thomas Crown (McQueen). Playing a seductive game of cat and mouse, Anderson tries to snare the elusive Crown by teasing him with herself.
-
The Departed (dvd) Martin Scorsese's remake of the Hong Kong hit INTERNAL AFFAIRS stars Leonardo DiCaprio, Matt Damon, Jack Nicholson, Martin Sheen, Mark Wahlburg and Alec Baldwin. Rookie cop Billy Costigan (DiCaprio) grew up in crime and becomes the perfect mole - the man on the inside of the mob run by boss Frank Costello (Nicholson).
-
Next Stop Wonderland (dvd) After a break-up with her boyfriend, a night-shift nurse (Hoep Davis) falls victim to the good intentions of her mother, who places an ad in the "personals" section for her. As she fends off unwanted suitors, she somehow keeps missing her natural soul-mate - a plumber studying to be a marine biologist (Alan Gelfant). This film about the urban single life was written and directed by Brad Anderson.
-
The Fighter (dvd) Heartfelt drama tells the true story of light welterweight boxer "Irish" Micky Ward (Mark Wahlberg), who strives to earn a title shot while a film crew focuses on a "comeback" attempt by Dicky Eklund (Oscar-winner Christian Bale), his drug-addled brother and trainer. While Dicky self-destructs and his manager mother (Oscar-winner Melissa Leo) offers promises but no results, Micky questions who deserves his loyalty after falling for a caring young woman (Amy Adams).
-
Shutter Island (dvd) Set in 1954, Martin Scorsese's psychological thriller stars Leonardo DiCaprio as a U.S. marshal sent to investigate the disappearance of a patient from an asylum for the criminally insane located on an isolated island. But nothing is what it seems as DiCaprio finds himself embroiled in a labyrinthine mystery involving mind-control experiments, forcing him to wonder if he's really who he thinks he is.
-
The Blinking Madonna and Other Miracles (dvd) After recording an Italian-American religious festival in Boston's North End with her camcorder, filmmaker Beth Harrington's neighbors tell her they see a miracle on the videotape - a statue of the Virgin Mary blinking it's eyes. To Harrington's amazement, and in spite of her lapsed religious beliefs, she must admit that her life has been transformed by the event. When the press gets hold of the story, what ensues is a funny and touching look at what it means to believe and to belong.
-
Legally Blonde (dvd) Reese Witherspoon plays the sterotypical California sorority girl, who decides she must become more serious to attain dignity and to win back her Harvard-bound boyfriend. A comedy by director Robert Luketic.
-
The Verdict (dvd) 2-disc collector's edition of Sidney Lumet's chronicle of a down-and-out lawyer (Paul Newman) who takes on the system against impossible odds.
-
What Doesn't Kill You (dvd) Brian and Paulie are two lifelong friends who grew up like brothers on the gritty streets of south Boston. They started early as street thugs living by the criminal code, doing petty crimes and misdemeanors that grew increasingly more serious. Eventually they fall under the sway of organized crime boss Pat Kelly. As Brian becomes increasingly lost in a haze of drugs and 'jobs,' he consistently disappoints his loyal wife and their two sons.
-
Floating (dvd) Norman Reedus stars as Van, a young man torn between his dreams and his responsibilities, in this independent feature. Desperately wishing to attend college, where he feels he could find himself as well as success on the swim team, an anxious and increasingly angry man must instead grapple with financial insecurity as he cares for his alcoholic, wheelchair-bound father
-
Session 9 (dvd) The workers of a hazardous material unit, assigned to remove asbestos from the crumbling Danvers State [mental] Hospital, discover the frightening secrets of the institution. Brad Anderson creates a creepy atmosphere in this feature, which is effectively shot in high-definition video, with a cast that includes David Caruso and Peter Mullan.
Exhibit Sources: Archival Materials
-
Beyond Busing: Boston School Desegregation Archival Resources (Northeastern University) This site represents an entry-point for Boston school desegregation archival resources - a place for educators, students, activists, researchers, and anyone with a general interest to begin investigating primary sources related to 35 plus years of work around school desegregation in the city. These sources explore the history of desegregation in Boston beginning with the Brown v. Board of Education decision in 1954 through to the Morgan v. Hennigan case in 1974.
