Stagecraft
Stagecraft Fundamentals: a guide and reference for theatrical production by
Stagecraft Fundamentals Second Edition tackles every aspect of theatre production with Emmy Award-winning author Rita Kogler Carver''s signature witty and engaging voice. The history of stagecraft, safety precautions, lighting, costumes, scenery, career planning tips, and more are discussed, illustrated by beautiful color examples that display step-by-step procedures and the finished product.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2012
The prop building guidebook : for theatre, film, and tv by
Ch. 1. What is a prop? -- ch. 2. Needs and means -- ch. 3. Safety -- ch. 4. Shop space -- ch. 5. Assemblage -- ch. 6. Measuring and marking -- ch. 7. Structure and framework -- ch. 8. Carpentry -- ch. 9. Metal -- ch. 10. Plastics construction -- ch. 11. Flat patterning -- ch. 12. Fabric -- ch. 13. Sculptural materials -- ch. 14. Molding and casting -- ch. 15. Shells and laminates -- ch. 16. Finishing -- ch. 17. Graphics -- ch. 18. Formal training -- ch. 19. Maintaining a portfolio.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2017
The Perfect Stage Crew: the compleat technical guide for high school, college, and community theater by
Here is a must-have book for anyone producing a stage show without a Broadway-sized budget. Written by a technical theater veteran, The Perfect Stage Crew explains the pitfalls to avoid and provides solutions to the most common--and the most complex--stage performance problems, even for theaters with a lack of resources. An invaluable guide for middle and high school theaters, college theaters, and community theaters, The Perfect Stage Crew teaches readers how to: Stock, organize, and store the essential backstage supplies Conceptualize, design, and build sets Manage a stage crew effectively Paint scenery and backdrops Test, design, and hang lighting Operate and repair sound equipment Set cues Promote your show This expanded second edition covers up-to-date technology, including for use with recording, sound, and lighting. Chapters also cover such crucial topics as running technical rehearsals, gathering props, and creating and selling tickets. Theater groups that need to learn the nuts and bolts of putting a show together will discover how to turn backstage workers into The Perfect Stage Crew. Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
Location: Mugar Stacks PN2091.S8 K25 2003Publication Date: 2003
The Stage Directions Guide to Working Back Stage by
A guide to working back stage. There is advice on: proper installation and maintenance of rope, rigging and curtains; safety guidelines for ladders and catwalks; construction and repair; the special needs of touring productions; special effects; creating effective teams; and more.
Location: Mugar Stacks PN2091.S8 S76 2000Publication Date: 2000
Theatre and Performance Design: A Reader in Scenography by
Theatre and Performance Design: A Reader in Scenography is an essential resource for those interested in the visual composition of performance and related scenographic practices. Theatre and performance studies, cultural theory, fine art, philosophy and the social sciences are brought together in one volume to examine the principle forces that inform understanding of theatre and performance design. The volume is organised thematically in five sections: looking, the experience of seeing space and place the designer: the scenographic bodies in space making meaning This major collection of key writings provides a much needed critical and contextual framework for the analysis of theatre and performance design. By locating this study within the broader field of scenography - the term increasingly used to describe a more integrated reading of performance - this unique anthology recognises the role played by all the elements of production in the creation of meaning. Contributors include Josef Svoboda, Richard Foreman, Roland Barthes, Oscar Schlemmer, Maurice Merleau-Ponty, Richard Schechner, Jonathan Crary, Elizabeth Wilson, Henri Lefebvre, Adolph Appia and Herbert Blau.
Location: Mugar Stacks PN2085 .T44 2010 and OnlinePublication Date: 2012-10-02
Costume Design
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window The Berg Fashion Library includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an e-book collection, and an image database. This database covers all regions of the world with content from pre-history to the present.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
From diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture. A new addition to the Scribner Daily Life series, which includes the best-selling Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, this broad-based encyclopedia surveys clothing and body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. It also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras. Topics range from the bustle, sari, and toga to Polyester and body piercing. cocktail dress, bathing suit, burqua, Nehru jacket), techniques and manufactures (batik, dry cleaning, zipper, stone washing), body adornment (makeup, mask, tattoo, wig), and important persons and institutions (Coco Chanel, Edith Head, Yves Saint-Laurent, Fashion Institute of Technology). The longer essays provide cultural context: class, gender, sumptuary laws, costume design for stage and screen, advertising; fashion careers; ecclesiastical dress; military uniforms; etc. The Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion includes a comprehensive general index in the last volume, a timeline, and a topical outline. From the secondary school student writing a paper on dress among Native Americans to the university student interested in the underpinnings of clothing design, this set represents a unique and valuable source.
Location: Mugar Reference X GT507 .E53 2005 and OnlinePublication Date: 2004
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Costume and Fashion by
The most beguiling guide to fashion and style through the centuries now adds another 500 years to its coverage-so it's thoroughly up-to-date with the most recent international movements. From the simplicity of eleventh century dress to the excesses of punk, from the chic Madame de Pompadour to Dior and St. Laurent, this invaluable, thoroughly illustrated work showcases kings and courtiers, soldiers and dandies, musicians and models, adults and children. Informative captions accompany every color plate, providing significant details on the garment, the wearer's rank, and the period. Designers, photographers, wardrobe mistresses, historians, and anyone who loves beautiful clothing will find this a pleasure.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (GT513 .C3 2006 )Publication Date: 2006
Theatrical Costume, Masks, Make-Up and Wigs: a bibliography and iconography by
This is the first bibliography in its field, based on first-hand collations of the actual articles. International in scope, it includes publications found in public theatre libraries and archives of Barcelona, Berlin, Brussels, Budapest, Florence, London, Milan, New York and Paris amongst others. Over 3500 detailed entries on separately published sources such as books, sales and exhibition catalogues and pamphlets provide an indispensible guide for theatre students, practitioners and historians. Indices cover designers, productions, actors and performers. The iconography provides an indexed record of over 6000 printed plates of performers in role, illustrating performance costume from the 18th to 20th century.
Location: Mugar Reference X Z5691 .J68 2000Publication Date: 2000
The Handbook of Stage Costume by
The Handbook of Stage Costume is a comprehensive guide to designing, finding, and creating costumes for the stage. Straightforward and accessible, the book aims to give you the skills and the confidence to dress a variety of theater productions, from a full-scale musical to an abstract, improvised performance. It explains production meetings and the structure of a theatre company; working to a budget; the importance of costume to actor and audience; shopping, cutting, and making; costume for devised and physical theatre production; managing the wardrobe; and technical and dress rehearsals.
Location: Mugar Stacks PN2067 .B5 2006Publication Date: 2006
