BU Library Guides
Background Sources
Families in America by
An in-depth and multifaceted examination of the contemporary American family, this introductory handbook is the only one of its kind and presents a solid, authoritative overview. There is little doubt that the American family has changed from colonial times to the present. But what have those changes been? How have family dynamics shifted to deal with the countless new looks of the American Family? In Families in America, author Jeffrey Scott Turner has written a current and complete work that will be of great interest to general audiences as well as students of psychology and sociology. This work sheds light on everything from multicultural family variations and reproductive technologies to families of divorce and blended families. The book is bolstered by chapters that cite recent and important books on family life, as well as a listing of educational videotapes on family life in America. Provides a chronology, an A-Z collection of biographical sketches, and a statistical portrait of family life in America Includes an extensive directory of organizations and annotated bibliography of print and nonprint resources
Call Number: Mugar Reference X HQ536 .T798 2002ISBN: 9781576076286Publication Date: 2002-06-22
Encyclopedia of Media and Politics by
The relationship between media and politics receives constant attention and creates heated debate. The Encyclopedia of Media and Politics offers an authoritative, unbiased exploration of the intersection between media and politics, from larger themes such as the role of media in civil, democratic society, to more specific topics such as media ownership and regulation. ′′′′The topics covered include:′′Business and institutional aspects of the media;′′Evolution and impact of different media including newspapers; broadcast and cable television; and new technologies;′′Coverage of and relations with the White House, Congress, political parties, and other political institutions;′′Legislation and court cases affecting the media;′′Important debates, such as those over media bias and election coverage;′′Profiles of organizations and agencies, such as the Federal Communications Commission;′′Profiles of influential media outlets;′′Biographies of important figures.′′′′With articles contributed by scholars and practitioners, this volume provides both academic analysis and practical insights on the history, impact, and roles of the media in politics. Additional key information is provided through photographs, tables, figures, appendices, and an index. School, academic, and public libraries as well as libraries that serve media and professionals in related areas will want to acquire this important new resource for their patrons.′′′′
Call Number: Mugar Reference X P95.82.U6 E47 2007ISBN: 9781568028354Publication Date: 2006-10-27
American Families in Crisis by
An authoritative reference that helps general readers understand the varieties of crises impacting modern-day families and the intervention techniques designed to resolve them. An urgent, authoritative resource, American Families in Crisis spans the full spectrum of events and conditions that endanger families, offering the latest research and insights while evaluating current strategies and techniques for dealing with challenging family behaviors. The handbook begins by analyzing the history of family crises in the United States, then looks at how to identify, prevent, and respond to specific problems--everything from marital strife, teen runaways, and unemployment to school shootings, natural disasters, problems created by the Internet, and extended military deployment. The coverage is backed by hundreds of current key reference sources, plus chapters on notable contributors to the field, important data and documents, and resources for further information. The chronology highlights important moments in the study of family crises over the past 100 years, including statistics related to the topics presented in earlier chapters, notable achievements in family studies research, the formation of professional associations and organizations, births and deaths of notable scholars, and much more The Data and Documents chapter uses clear graphics to provide accurate and meaningful information, helping the reader to better understand the complexities of family stress and crisis
Call Number: Mugar Reference X HQ536 .T796 2009ISBN: 9781598841640Publication Date: 2009-03-03
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture by
The St. James Encyclopedia Of Popular Culture, 2nd ed., updates and augments the over ten-year-old first edition. It includes 3, 036 signed essays (300 of them new), alphabetically arranged, and written or reviewed by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. The entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance (which include theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance). The entries analyze each topic or persons significance in and relevance to American popular culture; in addition to basic factual information, readers will gain perspective on the cultural context in which the topic or person has importance.
Call Number: Mugar Reference X E169.1 .S764 2000ISBN: 9781558628472Publication Date: 2013-05-07America's Families: a documentary history by
Call Number: Theology Library Stacks HQ535 .A6ISBN: 9780060140489Publication Date: 1982-01-01
Women, the Family, and Freedom by
Two Volumes.
Call Number: Mugar Stacks HQ1150 .W65ISBN: 9780804711722Publication Date: 1983-09-01
Blacks in American Film and Television by Call Number: Mugar Reference X PN1995.9.N4 B58 1988ISBN: 9780824087159Publication Date: 1988-03-01
Hispanics in Hollywood: an encyclopedia of film and television by
First published in 1994. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Call Number: Mugar Reference X PN1995.9.H47 R49 1994ISBN: 0815308272Publication Date: 1994-11-01
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more. Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including coverage of issues relating to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, dictionaries, primary source collections and specialized reference sources.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Published by Oxford University Press, it is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database containing dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
- Gale One fileBrowse by topic or explore a range of topics broken down by subject for targeted results based on your interests
Use the 'Topic Finder' feature to visualize connections between search terms and topics and view relevant articles for those topics..
Search our subject index to find articles tagged with specific subject terms or search through the publications available in Gale General OneFile..
