Research: Newspapers: International: News Databases

-- Times (London) 1785 -1985
-- L/N Academic 1985+

PressReader

Nexis Uni

International Newsstream

About Foreign Newspaper Sources

We subscribe to the full digital archive of one international paper:

Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 (London) This link opens in a new window
Date coverage: 1785 - 2019. An online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in The Times (London) to 2019. Full page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text. NOTE: For 2019+ use Nexis Uni.

These subscription news services provide limited (current) world coverage:

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that includes current newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts from around the world. Titles included change frequently; coverage is often limited to major articles; and most titles are limited to the current century.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International, searchable, full text coverage of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.) Date coverage: 1977 - present.
Factiva This link opens in a new window Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. Date coverage varies by publication.

NOTE: Content does change fairly frequently – titles are lost and new titles added. In addition, 2 of the 4 sources assume that you are searching by subject across newspaper content rather than looking for a single newspaper title.

Most major world newspapers provide current news content online, either as digital, reformatted content (including images) or as a digital copy of the print. Many provide archival content on site as well; or the indexing is free, and they charge per item requested.

In addition, the Boston Public Library has: (accessible with an eCard - click to apply)

19th Century British Newspapers parts 1-4, The 19th Century British Newspapers collection contains full runs of 120 selected newspapers from 1739 to 1950.
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2009 The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of this City of London daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2009, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
The Irish Times (1859-2012) The Historical Irish Times collection offers both full page and article digital images in PDF format with searchable full text. Also includes the Irish Weekly Times and Irish Pictorial.
Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large.

Newspapers: International: News Databases

About Foreign Newspaper Sources

We subscribe to the full digital archive of one international paper:

These subscription news services provide limited (current) world coverage:

In addition, the Boston Public Library has: (accessible with an eCard - click to apply)

CC