The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature by With more than 1,000 entries by more than 200 expert contributors, this encyclopedia is the most comprehensive reference available on African American literature. While most of the entries are on individual authors, the encyclopedia gives special attention to the historical, cultural, and political contexts that have shaped African American writing. Included are entries on critical movements and terms, critics and scholars, historical and social issues, cultural and historical figures, literary forms and genres, literary schools and organizations, and many other topics. The entries cite numerous print and electronic resources, and the encyclopedia concludes with a selected, general bibliography. Designed to meet the needs of high school students, undergraduates, and general readers, this encyclopedia is the most comprehensive reference available on African American literature from its origins to the present. Other works include many brief entries, or offer extended biographical sketches of a limited selection of writers. This encyclopedia surpasses existing references by offering full and current coverage of a vast range of authors and topics. While most of the entries are on individual authors, the encyclopedia gathers together information about the genres and geographical and cultural environments in which these writers have worked, and the social, political, and aesthetic movements in which they have participated. Thus the encyclopedia gives special attention to the historical and cultural forces that have shaped African American writing. In addition to drawing upon the learning of Hans Ostrom, J. David Macey, Jr., and more than 200 expert contributors, the encyclopedia benefits from an editorial board of such distinguished scholars as: Houston A. Baker, Jr., Emily Bernard, Michele Elam, Dolan Hubbard, and Sheila Smith McKoy. Because of its broad scope, substantial entries, current coverage, and extensive attention to historical, political, and social contexts, this encyclopedia will be the major resource for high school students and teachers interested in the full range of the African American experience. Academic and public libraries will also treasure this work as an incomparable guide to our nation's African American heritage. * Covers African American literature from its origins to the present day. * Includes more than 1,000 entries by more than 200 scholars. * Provides extensive biographical and critical profiles of established and neglected writers. * Gives special attention to the contributions of women writers. * Provides full coverage of literary forms and genres, critical movements and terms, critics and scholars, literary schools and organizations, and other topics central to African American literature. * Stresses the social and historical contexts of African American literature through entries on cultural and historical figures, social issues, political and legal concerns, and significant events. * Entries cite numerous print and electronic resources for student research. * Includes a selected, general bibliography of the most important broad works on African American literature. * Includes an alphabetical list of entries. * Lists entries in topical categories. * Entries are fully cross-referenced. * Provides a detailed chronology. * Closes with an extensive index. * Offers valuable coverage of contemporary African American literature and popular culture. * Presents a generous selection of illustrations.
Location: Mugar Reference X PS153.N5 G73 2005 (5 vols)
Publication Date: 2005-09-30