by Chris Smith
Last Updated Mar 13, 2023
16 views this year
Exhibit Source: Manual Cinema
Manual CinemaManual Cinema is an Emmy Award winning performance collective, design studio, and film/video production company founded in 2010 by Drew Dir, Sarah Fornace, Ben Kauffman, Julia Miller, and Kyle Vegter. Manual Cinema combines handmade shadow puppetry, cinematic techniques, and innovative sound and music to create immersive stories for stage and screen.
Exhibit Sources: Film Databases & Catalogs
Academic Video OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowKanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
BU Libraries Search (BULS)This link opens in a new windowBU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
Browse Videos & Films
Documentaries about Frankenstein
Mary Shelley: The Birth of Frankenstein (streaming, Academic Video Online)Creator of a modern monster, visionary of a scientific future, celebrity, sexual experimenter and struggling mother, Mary Shelley is one of the most enduring novelists and one of the most remarkable. The programme discovers how Mary Shelley's personal life influenced her most famous work and why her ideas resonate so clearly today. Nearly 200 years after the book was published, we are still fascinated and sometimes afraid of how far science can take us into the mysteries of life itself.
In search of the real Frankenstein (streaming, Academic Video Onine)The fascinating story of Johann Konrad Dipple, a brilliant scientist caught up in the dark world of alchemy and body snatching. This is the true tale of the original mad scientist, born in 1673, in the famous gothic Frankenstein Castle that overlooked Germany's Rhine Valley. His pioneering work would lead to electric shock therapy used in modern medicine. It was at Frankenstein Castle that Dipple would carry out his search to brew a secret elixir of life. He began to dig up fresh corpses from the nearby Nieder-Beerbach cemetery and dragged them to his laboratory in Castle Frankenstein to test out his formulas. Ironically, it was his potions that finally killed him.
In Search of History: Frankenstein (streaming, Academic Video Online)"In Search of History" journeys 2,000 years from ancient times to the present, taking a closer look at the events, places, and hidden mysteries that have puzzled and inspired historians and experts across the ages. Was Dr. Frankenstein born from novelist Mary Shelley's mind, or based in reality as some investigators argue? Did she hear of the 18th-century German doctor who experimented on dead as well as live bodies?
Frankenstein and The vampyre : a dark and stormy night (streaming, Academic Video Online)On 16 June 1816, trapped inside a villa by insatiable thunderstorms erupting across Lake Geneva in Switzerland, Lord Byron challenged his party of young bohemians to a ghost story competition. Their confinement was to change their destiny, and the course of literary history, forever. That night, Byron's challenge gave birth to Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, the gothic masterpiece of Romantic fiction, and Polidori's The Vampyre, the first great vampire novel. Combining drama with the opinions of a stellar cast of gothic, horror and science fiction writers, including Neil Gaiman and Margaret Atwood, this fascinating documentary explores of one of the most significant moments in gothic history and considers its lasting effect on modern literature.
Frankenstein (1931) (75th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)This classic chiller helped usher in the age of the Universal monsters. When mad scientist Henry Frankenstein (Colin Clive) pieces together body parts taken from various corpses with hopes of creating life, his resulting production (Boris Karloff, in a career-defining performance) demonstrates the consequences of toying with nature. With Mae Clarke, Dwight Frye; directed by James Whale. Restored version; 71 min.
Frankenstein (1931) (Restored Version) (DVD, LD)Boris Karloff stars in director James Whale's adaptation of the Mary Shelley novel of horror. Dr. Frankenstein (Colin Clive) dares to tamper with life and death by creating a human monster (Boris Karloff) out of lifeless body parts. But the Doctor's dreams are shattered by his creation's violent rage as the monster wakes to a world in which it is unwelcome.
The Bride of Frankenstein (1935) (DVD, LD)Boris Karloff is the Monster; Elsa Lanchester plays the created mate as well as Mary Shelley in the prologue. Also stars Colin Clive and Ernest Thesiger as Dr. Praetorius. Directed by James Whale; score by Franz Waxman
Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (1994) (DVD)Robert De Niro, Kenneth Branagh, Tom Hulce, Helena Bonham Carter, Aidan Quinn, Sir Ian Holm and John Cleese star in Branagh's adaptation of Mary Shelley's FRANKENSTEIN, which follows Shelley's seminal gothic text more closely than past screen incarnations have.
Frankenthumb (2001) (DVD)Screenwriter and comedian Steve Oedekerk (BRUCE ALMIGHTY, ACE VENTURA) serves up this spoof of FRANKENSTEIN featuring an all "thumb puppet" cast. DVD includes storyboards, cast interviews, outtakes and director and cast commentaries. English audio.
Frankenstein  (streaming, Academic Video Online)From Bafta-award winning writer Jed Mercurio comes a gripping contemporary retelling of Mary Shelley's Gothic masterpiece. Set a few years into the future, under the darkened skies of a post super-volcanic world, Doctor Victoria Frankenstein works on an advanced stem cell research project. Desperate to save her dying son, her emotions start to affect her work with devastating consequences.
Frankenstein: Benedict Cumberbatch (2011) (Drama Online)The production was a sell-out hit at the National Theatre in 2011, and the broadcast has since become an international sensation, experienced by almost half a million people in cinemas around the world. Jonny Lee Miller plays Victor Frankenstein and Benedict Cumberbatch his creation in this performance of Danny Boyle's smash-hit production of Frankenstein.
Frankenweenie (2012 Feature) (DVD)Tim Burton adapted his 1984 short film for this computer-animated tale that follows young monster movie fanatic Victor as he becomes grief-stricken when his beloved dog Sparky is hit and killed by a car. After bringing the pooch back to life, Victor must convince his family and neighbor's that his bolt-necked canine isn't a monster.
The Wife of Bath
Canterbury tales. Episode 2, The wife of Bath (streaming, Academic Video Online)Fifty-three-year-old Beth Craddock (Julie Walters) is a successful television actress who still believes in Mr Right, despite a number of failed marriages behind her. When her husband of 16 years leaves her for another woman, she finds comfort in the arms of her 22-year-old co-star Jerome (Paul Nicholls). They fall passionately in love, but behind the smiles the pressures of their age difference are never far away.
ca. 1400-1405. Canterbury Tales: ms. EL 26 C9, fol. 72r: Wife of Bath: det.. Place: Henry E. Huntington Library and Art Gallery. (ARTStor)
ARTstorThis link opens in a new windowARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
Associated Press Images CollectionThis link opens in a new windowAssociated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.