Image Sources
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- AskART Academic This link opens in a new window AskART Academic is a database of information about artists, including names, birth and death dates, state or local affiliation, fields in which artist worked, book and periodical references to artist, dealers and museums where works may be viewed, auction prices of works, and some biographical details.
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
In addition to these sources, museum websites include many images of art in their collections.
Museum Collections
AMA: Art Museum of the Americas. Organization of American States. Established in 1917. "Showcases cutting-edge exhibits of artists whose output creatively combines aesthetics with topical social and political issues."
CIFO: Cisneros Fontanels Art Foundation. Established in 2002. "Grants and Commissions Program for emerging and mid-career visual artists from Latin America; an exhibitions program showcasing work by Latin American artists and international contemporary art from the Ella Fontanals-Cisneros Collection."
El Museo del Barrio. Established in 1975. “El Museo del Barrio, New York’s leading Latino cultural institution...[for discovering] the artistic landscape of Latino, Caribbean, and Latin American cultures…El Museo del Barrio’s purpose is to collect, preserve, exhibit and interpret the art and artifacts of Caribbean and Latin American cultures for posterity.”
LACMA: Los Angeles County Museum of Art: Latin American Art. “In 1997, the collectors Edith and Bernard Lewin added more than two thousand works by Mexican modernists to the collection, making LACMA one of the main U.S. repositories of Latin American art. The museum has since expanded its collection with works from throughout Latin America, ranging from the colonial to the contemporary periods.”
MOLAA: Museum of Latin American Art. “Founded in 1996 in Long Beach, California, dedicated to modern and contemporary Latin American art."
MoMA: Museum of Modern Art. Click on Collection and type "Latin American" in search box.
Smithsonian Latino Center This is an important website for researching Latin American and Latino art in the United States. Here you can search the Center’s collections, and explore other Resources including a list of museums with Latin American art collections.
Art Museums of Latin America: structuring representation by
Since the late nineteenth century, art museums have played crucial social, political, and economic roles throughout Latin America because of the ways that they structure representation. By means of their architecture, collections, exhibitions, and curatorial practices, Latin American art museums have crafted representations of communities, including nation states, and promoted particular group ideologies. This collection of essays, arranged in thematic sections, will examine the varying and complex functions of art museums in Latin America: as nation-building institutions and instruments of state cultural politics; as foci for the promotion of Latin American modernities and modernisms; as sites of mediation between local and international, private and public interests; as organizations that negotiate cultural construction within the Latin American diaspora and shape constructs of Latin America and its nations; and as venues for the contestation of elitist and Eurocentric notions of culture and the realization of cultural diversity rooted in multiethnic environments.
Location: Online.Publication Date: 2018
