Where is the Article?
Are you only finding an article abstract but not the full-text of the article? Not to worry, the 
will lead you to the full-text of the article.
Integrated into many BU journal databases, the Find@BU button will help you get to the article in one of three ways:
- If BU has the full-text of the article through an online journal subscription, you will see a link that will take you directly to the article or the online journal.
- If BU subscribes to the print journal in which the article appeared, you will see information about which BU Library carries the print volumes, and the call number of the title.
- IF BU does not subscribe to either a print or online version of a journal, you will be given an option to get the article from another article. A link will take you to our interlibrary loan request form. Once you fill out this form, you will receive a pdf copy of the article within 48 hours of your request.
Journal Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of abstracts to the biomedical literature. Includes medicine, the allied health disciplines, and biomedical literature. Materials range from 1809 Onwards, with more recent decades better represented.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window Covers journal publications from the nursing and allied health professions. While it primarily covers journal citations, it also includes book chapter abstracts, dissertations, and conference abstracts.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window This database is a core general science resource, covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and to use associated journal metrics provided by the vendor.
- Embase This link opens in a new window Embase.com is the database equivalent of EXCERPTA MEDICA. It is a comprehensive, international database covering Anesthesiology, Human Genetics, Gerontology, Drug Research, Pharmacology, Drug Side Effects and Interactions, Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental), including Pediatrics and Obstetrics & Gynecology, Basic Biological Sciences, Biotechnology, Biomedicine, Health Policy and Management, Pharmacoeconomics, Public and Occupational Health, Environmental Health, Pollution Control, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Alternative and Complementary Medicine, Nursing.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window A collection of systematic reviews on the impact of health-related interventions & treatments. Updated regularly.
Suggested MeSH Headings for PubMed
PubMed's specialized keywords are known as "Mesh Headings." These headings will help you hone in on the articles that you need. MeSH headings are not always intuitive to find, so here are some recommend keyword combinations for various topics in PubMed:
- "Dietary Supplements"[Mesh]) AND "Performance-Enhancing Substances"[Mesh]
- "Food, Formulated"[Mesh]) AND "Muscles"[Mesh]
- "Phenylketonurias"[Mesh]
- "Enzymes"[Mesh]) AND "Dietary Supplements"[Mesh]
- "Tea"[Mesh]) AND "Metabolism"[Mesh]
- "Orlistat"[Mesh]) AND "Body Weight Maintenance"[Mesh]
- "Glutamine"[Mesh]) AND "Gastrointestinal Tract"[Mesh]
- "Phytosterols"[Mesh]) AND "Cholesterol"[Mesh]
- "Dietary Supplements"[Mesh]) AND "Malabsorption Syndromes"[Mesh]
- "Ezetimibe"[Mesh]) AND "Cholesterol"[Mesh]
- "Hydroxymethylglutaryl-CoA Reductase Inhibitors"[Mesh]) AND "Cholesterol"[Mesh]
- "Cannabidiol"[Mesh]) AND "Metabolism"[Mesh]
- "Non-alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease"[Mesh]) AND "Metabolism"[Mesh]
- "PPA"ATP Citrate (pro-S)-Lyase"[Mesh]
- "Cholesterol/metabolism"[Mesh]) AND "Metabolism, Inborn Errors"[Mesh]
- ("Chitosan"[Mesh]) AND "Weight Loss"[Mesh]
- ("Picolinic Acids"[Mesh]) AND "Insulin Secretion"[Mesh]
Don't see your topic listed here? Please contact me using the information on the right for research tips.
