Related Guides
Find Films & Images
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
Browse Films
- Just Eat It (streaming, Kanopy) Filmmakers and food lovers, Jen and Grant dive into the issue of food waste from farm and retail, right to the back of their own fridge. In a deliciously entertaining challenge, they pledge to quit grocery shopping and survive only on discarded food.
- The Food Waste Problem: Food Fighter (streaming, Academic Video Online) Food Fighter is the inspirational story of one woman who abandoned capitalism in favour of social activism. Ronni Kahn founded OzHarvest to wage war on food waste, and to expose an inconvenient truth: that four million tonnes of food is discarded annually while two million Aussies suffer from food insecurity.Part 1: Entrepreneur Ronni Kahn introduces OzHarvest: her organisation that's taking on government and big business to expose an inconvenient truth: that four million tonnes of food is discarded annually while two million Aussies suffer from food insecurity.
- Food forward. Season 1, Episode 10, Make food, not waste (streaming, Academic Video Online) Americans throw away 34 million tons of food each year, or about a quarter of the food we buy. But where some see garbage, others find green gold. Explore the secret life of food scraps, landfills and the people who love them.
- The Bottom Up Approach to Combatting Food Waste: Food Fighter (streaming, Academic Video Online) Food Fighter is the inspirational story of one woman who abandoned capitalism in favour of social activism. Ronni Kahn founded OzHarvest to wage war on food waste, and to expose an inconvenient truth: that four million tonnes of food is discarded annually while two million Aussies suffer from food insecurity.Part 2:Partnering with Woolworths, the biggest retailer in Australia, OzHarvest is trying to influence the way in which shops stock their shelves
- Combatting Food Waste Internationally: Food Fighter (streaming, Academic Video Online) Food Fighter is the inspirational story of one woman who abandoned capitalism in favour of social activism. Ronni Kahn founded OzHarvest to wage war on food waste, and to expose an inconvenient truth: that four million tonnes of food is discarded annually while two million Aussies suffer from food insecurity.Part 3:In Paris, Ronnie discusses how to combat food waste internationally with Arash Derambarsh, the French Minister who introduced the law that forced supermarkets not to waste leftover food.
- #FightFoodWaste for the future: Food Fighter (streaming, Academic Video Online) Food Fighter is the inspirational story of one woman who abandoned capitalism in favour of social activism. Ronni Kahn founded OzHarvest to wage war on food waste, and to expose an inconvenient truth: that four million tonnes of food is discarded annually while two million Aussies suffer from food insecurity.Part 4/4:Ronnie meets with Jamie Oliver for his CEO Cook-off event where they discuss the future of fighting food waste this century.
- Feeding our world : combating food waste and unequal access (streaming, Academic Video Online) Moderated by Jessica Eise, co-editor of How to Feed the World, this webinar describes methods of achieving global food security, and illustrates the connection between developing equal access to food and reducing waste and loss in our food systems. The webinar features co-editor Dr. Ken Foster and contributor Dr. Jerry Shively of Purdue University’s Department of Agricultural Economics, and includes an audience question and answer session.
- Wastecooking: Make Food, Not Waste (streaming, Academic Video Online) Author and cook David Gross goes on a road trip through Europe, cooking exclusively what others throw away.
- Wasted Food (streaming, Academic Video Online) This segment of Sunday Morning is about food that goes to waste because of required food dating or expiration dates that are stamped even before food turns rancid.
- Composting for busy people (streaming, Academic Video Online) earn from real people about how to compost. They'll show you in their own backyards everything from how to set up a bin and worm box, to how to best use finished compost on your own plants.
- The food detectives. Episode 11, Food wastage is making you poor (streaming, Academic Video Online) What if I told you everday you're throwing away one third of your cash in the trash. Well unfortunately this is true. Approximately one third of the food that's produced globally goes to waste. And if that's not scary enough, we're wasting more food than we did 10 years ago. Are we buying food just for the bin? Are we throwing away perfectly good produce? What is it that we are doing wrong when doing the grocery shopping, cooking and eating out? Well today you're going to face a couple of hard facts. Food wastage is making you poor.
- Food revolution. Buying more ugly food : an imperfect waste solution? (streaming, Academic Video Online) Every year, around 1.3 billion tonnes of food is wasted, enough to end world hunger many times over. One often-mooted solution is eating more of the ugly food that doesn't meet supermarkets' high aesthetic standards. But critics say other actions like standardising date labels and changing packaging sizes could be more effective.
- Food Thrift: Scraps from the Past (streaming, Library of Congress) Constance Carter describes the resourceful ways American housewives found to feed their families during hard times of the past.
- Taste the Waste (streaming, Youtube) Taste the Waste,” directed by Valentin Thurn, will provide you with a more complete understanding of the quantity of food being thrown away, much of which is still edible. 90 million tons of food are thrown away in the European Union per year, including 3 million tons of bread.
TED Talks
- Tristram Stewart: The Global Food Waste Scandal Western countries throw out nearly half of their food, not because it’s inedible -- but because it doesn’t look appealing. Tristram Stuart delves into the shocking data of wasted food, calling for a more responsible use of global resources.
- Vince Hall: Solving Hunger by Solving Food Waste Virtually everything we’ve been taught about solving hunger is wrong--all the food we need to end hunger is already in our communities every day. Vince debunks traditional approaches and their environmental impacts and introduces the concept of effective food rescue programs that will end hunger and help save the planet.
- Ali Jackson: What Can We Do to reduce Food Waste? Ali Jackson is a compassionate person who truly cares about others and the world around her. By educating her peers on the issue of food waste, she hopes to inspire them to make small changes in their lives that will help better the environment.
- Robin Hoods of the waste stream (streaming, Academic Video Online) Looks at a variety of food waste solutions and includes interviews with many of the founders of the organizations, including Ben Simon of Imperfect Produce, Komal Ahmad of Copia, Regina Anderson of the Food Recovery Network, Tyler and Elizabeth Boggs of Heart2Heart Farms, Gary Oppenheimer of AmpleHarvest.org, Tracy Oseran of Urban Gleaners, Tristram Stuart, and Dana Gunders.
Podcasts
- Creating a Sustainable Food Future “What kept us from jumping over the cliff in writing this report was the really promising solutions,” says Tim Searchinger, lead author of the new synthesis of the World Resources Report: Creating a Sustainable Food Future. In this podcast, he joins co-authors Rich Waite and Janet Ranganathan to discuss today’s food system and its climate impact – and just what exactly it will take to sustainably feed 10 billion people by 2050.
- Waste360: Nothing Wasted Waste360 chats with the rockstars of the waste, recycling, organics and sustainability industry where you will get a glimpse on the latest news and insights behind this amazing industry.
- Food is Wasted This series of podcasts shares the stories of people and organisations from across the globe, fighting to reduce the amount of edible food needlessly going to waste.
- The Food Navigator Podcast: Rethinking Food Waste "Innovators are looking to address food waste with technology, community, and original business models. The FoodNavigator Podcast hears from recipe box company Gousto, anti-food waste app Olio, and UK charity FareShare to find out more."
- AnthroDish 101: 101: Upcycling Imperfect Produce into Healthy Eats with Monique Chan of Bruized This week, I’m chatting with Monique Chan, who is working on a solution through her company, Bruized. Monique today discusses how she started Bruized, some of the major challenges of working within food waste, and creative ways to start thinking about using your own food waste in scraps. She also highlights some of the lessons that we can learn about ourselves through thinking about food waste, which I found so fascinating.
