Skip to Main Content
Routledge Handbook of Food Waste
The Routledge Handbook of Food Waste addresses new and ongoing debates around systemic causes and solutions, including behaviour change, social innovation, new technologies, spirituality, redistribution, animal feed, and activism. The chapters describe and evaluate country case studies, waste management, treatment, prevention, and reduction approaches, and compares research methodologies for better understanding food wastage.
The Oxford Handbook of Food Ethics
This Handbook provides a sample of recent philosophical work in food ethics. This philosophical work addresses ethical issues with agricultural production, the structure of the global food system, the ethics of personal food consumption, the ethics of food policy, and cultural understandings of food and eating, among other issues.
Sage Encyclopedia of Food Issues
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues explores the topic of food across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas including business, consumerism, marketing, and environmentalism. In contrast to the existing reference works on the topic of food that tend to fall into the categories of cultural perspectives, this carefully balanced academic encyclopedia focuses on social and policy aspects of food production, safety, regulation, labeling, marketing, distribution, and consumption.
Routledge International Handbook of Food Studies
Introduced by the editor and including original articles by over thirty leading food scholars from around the world, the Routledge International Handbook of Food Studies offers students, scholars and all those interested in food-related research a one-stop, easy-to-use reference guide. Each article includes a brief history of food research within a discipline or on a particular topic, a discussion of research methodologies and ideological or theoretical positions, resources for research, including archives, grants and fellowship opportunities, as well as suggestions for further study.
"Food Waste and Consumer Ethics," in Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
The ethical issues related to food losses and food waste are very complex and to a large degree dependent upon at which part in the food supply chain they are identified. In this entry for reasons of clarity and space, the emphasis is placed on food waste occurring at consumer level and mainly on the discussion of the ethical responsibilities that can be said to exist at this stage.
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
This Encyclopedia offers a definitive source on issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the important new area of food and agricultural ethics. It includes summaries of historical approaches, current scholarship, social movements, and new trends from the standpoint of the ethical notions that have shaped them.
"Food Waste," in Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
Food spoils: for centuries the fight against food decay has been central to the survival of human civilizations. Protected storage facilities, brining, freezing, drying, refrigerating, and more recently canning and adding chemical preservatives: by all means humans have tried, and to a point succeeded, to preserve food and keep it from spoiling. Yet, in the twenty-first century, the world is divided between countries that are still struggling to keep their food reserves safe, where populations struggle with hunger, and countries that overproduce and throw away up to 50 % of their agricultural production and whose populations struggle with overnutrition.