Greek Historiography (Chapters 2, 3, & 9) by Thomas F. ScanlonThis volume provides an accessible, comprehensive, and up-to-date survey of the ancient Greek genre of historical writing from its origins before Herodotus to the Greek historians of the Roman imperial era, seven centuries later. Focuses on the themes of power and human nature, causation, divine justice, leadership, civilization versus barbarism, legacy, and literary reception Includes thorough summaries alongside textual analysis that signpost key passages and highlight thematic connections, helping readers navigate their way through the original texts Situates historical writing among the forms of epic and lyric poetry, drama, philosophy, and science Uses the best current translations and includes a detailed list of further reading that includes important new scholarship
Publication Date: 2015
Companion to Greek and Roman Historiography (pp. 371-373 and 784-790) by John Marincola (Editor)This two-volume Companion to Greek and Roman Historiography reflects the new directions and interpretations that have arisen in the field of ancient historiography in the past few decades. Comprises a series of cutting edge articles written by recognised scholars Presents broad, chronological treatments of important issues in the writing of history and antiquity These are complemented by chapters on individual genres and sub-genres from the fifth century B.C.E. to the fourth century C.E. Provides a series of interpretative readings on the individual historians Contains essays on the neighbouring genres of tragedy, biography, and epic, among others, and their relationship to history
Publication Date: 2009
Greek and Roman Historians : information and misinformation by Michael GrantIt is today widely accepted that we do not get the whole truth from any historian. Greek and Roman Historiansconsiders the work of ancient historians such as Herotudus, Tacitus and Thucydides in the the light of this attitude. In an enlightening new study, Michael Grant argues that misinformation, even deliberate disinformation, is abundant in their writings. Grant, one of the world's greatest writers of ancient history, suggests new ways of reading and interpreting the ancient historians which maximise their usefulness as source material. He demonstrates how the evidence they provide can be augmented by the use of other, literary and non-literary, sources. Greek and Roman Historiansshows us how we can use written history to learn about the ancient world, even if our conclusions are not those its historians intended. The author argues that their work remains our most important source of information, once we have learned to question and incorporate their imperfect regard for the truth. Grant's account is an indispensible guide to the sources and their interpretation for all students of ancient history.ate their imperfect regard for the truth. Grant's account is an indispensible guide to the sources and their interpretation for all students of ancient history.
Publication Date: 2004
Thucydides and Herodotus by Edith Foster (Editor); Donald Lateiner (Editor)This edited collection looks at two of the most important ancient Greek historians living in the 5th Century BCE who are considered to be the founders of the western tradition of historiography. Thucydides and Herodotus examines the relevant relationship between these historians which isconsidered, especially nowadays, by historians and philologists to be more significant than previously realized.The volume includes an introduction by the editors which addresses our changing view of how the historians relate to one another, and twelve papers written by leading experts in the field of ancient history and philology. Nine of the papers discuss either comprehensive issues pertaining to thehistorians' relationship or their common themes and practices, while three further papers discuss the ancient reception of Herodotus and Thucydides and investigate the historians' debt to Homer.
Location: In print: Mugar Stacks DF211 .T48 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The Cambridge Companion to Herodotus by John Marincola (Editor); Carolyn Dewald (Editor)Herodotus' Histories is the first major surviving prose work from antiquity. Its range of interests is immense, covering the whole of the known world and much beyond, and it culminates in a detailed account of the Persian Wars of the early fifth century BC. Moreover, research has shown that Herodotus is a sophisticated and at times even ironic narrator, and a pioneer and serious practitioner of historical research at a time when the Greeks' traditions about their past were still the fluid transmissions and memories of a largely oral society. This Companion provides a series of accessible chapters, written by distinguished scholars, illuminating many aspects of Herodotus' work: his skill in language and his narrative art; his intellectual preconceptions; his working methods and techniques; his attitude towards nature and the gods; his attitude towards foreign cultures and peoples; and his view of human life and human history.
Location: In print: Mugar Stacks PA4004 .C36 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Brill's Companion to Thucydides by Antonios Rengakos (Editor); Antonis Tsakmakis (Editor)With contributions by thirty leading international scholars, this volume offers an up-to-date and in-depth overview of all current approaches to Thucydides' History.
Location: Mugar Reserve Room DF229.T6 B75 2006
The Oxford Handbook of Thucydides by Sara Forsdyke (Editor); Edith Foster (Editor); Ryan Balot (Editor)The Oxford Handbook of Thucydides contains essays on Thucydides as an historian, thinker, and writer. It also features papers on Thucydides' intellectual context and ancient reception. The creative juxtaposition of historical, literary, philosophical, and reception studies allows for a bettergrasp of Thucydides' complex project and its intellectual context, while at the same time providing a comprehensive introduction to Thucydides' ideas.The Oxford Handbook of Thucydides is organized into four sections of papers: History, Historiography, Political Theory, and Context and Reception. It therefore bridges traditionally divided disciplines. The authors engaged to write the forty chapters for this volume include both well-known scholarsand less well-known innovators, who bring fresh ideas and new points of view. Articles avoid technical jargon and long footnotes, and are written in an accessible style.Finally, The Oxford Handbook of Thucydides includes a thorough introduction, which introduces every paper, as well as two maps and an up-to-date bibliography that will enable further and more specific study. It therefore offers a comprehensive introduction to a thinker and writer whose simultaneousdepth and innovativeness have been the focus of intense literary and philosophical study since ancient times.