Skip to Main Content
Letters, Diaries, & Oral Histories
HistoryMakers: African American Video Oral History Collection This link opens in a new window
HistoryMakers is a collection of video oral history interviews with historically significant African Americans. Transcripts are included with the interviews.
NAACP Papers (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
The NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the work of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues of the struggle for civil rights.
Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990 (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
This database includes records of the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance. The NWP was founded in 1913 when Alice Paul and colleagues broke away from the National American Woman Suffrage Association in dissent over strategy and tactics. The WAA, established in 1971, concerned itself with issues such as employment, childcare, health care, and education. The LWV collection covers women's involvement in U.S. politics from 1920 to 1974.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
Letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories; much material was unpublished. Date coverage:1840-, focusing heavily on the period from 1890 to 1920.
Law and Society since the Civil War (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
A collection of documents from the Harvard Law School Library featuring the papers of three Supreme Court Justices, the first Black federal judge, and the Sacco and Vanzetti case.
