Protests against the failure to pass the Equal Rights Amerndment. Washington Post, July 2, 1982, pA3 (Via the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database)
New York Times reporting after 37 days of televised hearing of the Senate Watergate Committee. August 12, 1973, p46
A selection of news articles about the "war on drugs" from African American newspapers. (Via the Ethnic NewsWatch database)
Gun control editorial in the Baltimore Sun after the Odessa/Midland. Texas shootings. September 4, 2019, p14 (Via PressReader database)
Boston Globe report on exodus of last US troops from Vietnam. April 1, 1973, p1. (Via ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Newspaper & Magazine Databases
ProQuest Historical NewspapersFull-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for date coverage and to search that publication separately.
Nexis UniNexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
FactivaProvides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. Date coverage varies by publication.
Access World NewsFind full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
Ethnic NewsWatchFull text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
American Jewish NewspapersAmerican Jewish Newspapers provides scanned, searchable articles from four 19th and 20th century newspapers: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922); The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990); The American Israelite (1854-2000); and Jewish Exponent (1887-1990). Rights for use by Boston University community supported by the Ted Kyrios Memorial Book Fund.
Alternative Press IndexIdentifies articles in over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. The index links to full text articles available through BU subscriptions, but does not provide full text content. Date coverage: 1991 - present.
Periodicals Archive OnlineA full text archive of millions of articles published in more 700 magazines, and journals in the humanities and social sciences, in English and other Western European languages. Date coverage: 1802 to 2001. (Varies by publication)
America's Historical NewspapersFully searchable digital images of newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries. Date coverage: 1690 -1876.
Accessible ArchivesEyewitness accounts of historical events, ads and genealogical records published in popular 19th century newspapers including African-American publications.
Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveStreaming video of news and commercials from NBC and CNN plus searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, Fox News, and other channels . Date coverage: NBC video 1968 - present; CNN video 1995 - present.