Additional E-Book Collections
The BU Libraries have a number of online reference collections that will provide you with useful overviews of a topic. You can search any of the collections below by topic of keyword.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Published by Oxford University Press, it is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database containing dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works.
- Cambridge Companions Complete Collection This link opens in a new window The Cambridge Companions present collections of essays written by leading experts in the field on themes, subjects, and key figures in three broad areas: Literature and Classics; Philosophy, Religion, and Culture; and Music.
- Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of biology, business and management, classical studies, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, neuroscience, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion, and social work.
Getting Started
Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality by ISBN: 9781136326967Publication Date: 2014-03-05
Finding Background Sources in BU Libraries Search
Entries from encyclopedias and handbooks can be excellent sources of background information on a topic. You can limit your search in BU Libraries Search to reference entries by clicking on Reference Entries on the right.
