Skip to Main Content
ASA Style Guide
American Sociological Association Style Guide, 6th ed.
The ASA Style Guide highlights and features guidelines for the most common situations experienced by authors and editors in the ASA journal publication process. It is designed to serve as the authoritative reference for writing, submitting, editing, and copyediting manuscripts for ASA journals.
American Sociological Association Style Guide, 7th ed.
he seventh edition of the ASA Style Guide features guidelines for the most common situations encountered by authors and editors in the ASA journal publication process. It is designed to serve as the authoritative reference for writing, submitting, editing, and copyediting manuscripts for journals and other materials using or requiring ASA style.
While the structure of this edition is consistent with past editions, some changes have been made to the content. All links and reference sources have been updated or veried for accuracy. This edition also updates ASA policy on the use of the singular "they" as a generic pronoun, and includes new preferred terminology and capitalization for race/ethnicity.
Trends and Policy: U.S. Healthcare This link opens in a new window
This collection contains all major healthcare related public laws and Congressional hearings, legislative and executive branch reports, and statistical data series. The database also features timelines putting the history of healthcare policy in chronological context and the contextual topic pages explaining healthcare policy issues.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology offers concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts in sociology, written by leading scholars in the field, including several faculty from Boston University. Content dating to 2015 is included. Entries range from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in both classical sociology and contemporary developments in the field.
The New Blackwell Companion to Medical Sociology
An authoritative, topical, and comprehensive reference to the key concepts and most important traditional and contemporary issues in medical sociology. Contains 35 chapters by recognized experts in the field, both established and rising young scholars.
Handbook of Medical Sociology
Composed entirely of specially commissioned chapters by some of the outstanding scholars in medical sociology, this edition reflects important changes in the study of health and illness.
Handbook of the Sociology of Mental Health
Now in this updated second edition, the comprehensive handbook of mental health sociology features theory-driven reviews of recent research with an inclusive approach to investigating the myriad ways in which society shapes the mental health of its members.
Cultural Sociology of Mental Illness : an A-to-Z Guide
Cultural Sociology of Mental Illness: An A to Z Guide looks at recent reports that suggest an astonishing rise in mental illness and considers such questions as: Are there truly more mentally ill people now or are there just more people being diagnosed and treated? What are the roles of economics and the pharmacological industry in this controversy?
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Sociology, 2nd ed.
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Sociology, Second Edition is an authoritative survey of the major topics, current and emerging trends, and contemporary issues in the study of human social relationships and institutions.
A Dictionary of Sociology. 2014.
This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary covers terminology, concepts, and thinkers in the field of sociology, as well as from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
Providing an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the classical and the contemporary, this volume is an indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring over 600 entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.