For additional sources of crime data and statistics, see the Criminal Justice Data & Statistics research guide.
Adults in Correctional Facilities from Decennial Census, 2000-2020 (The Marshall Project)
Downloadable dataset of the number of adults in correctional facilities per county from the 2000, 2010 and 2020 Decennial Census.
United States Sentencing Commission, Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics
The tables and figures available on the ISB are based on the tables and figures available in the Commission's printed Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics (Sourcebook). The Sourcebook displays federal sentencing data from the Commission's datafiles. As part of its ongoing mission, the Commission provides Congress, the Judiciary, the Executive branch, and the general public with data extracted and analyzed from sentencing documents submitted by courts to the Commission.
Crime in the United States
An annual publication for more than eight decades, the Crime in the United States report contains a compilation of the volume and rate of violent and property crime offenses for the nation and by state using Summary Reporting System data and summarized data from the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS).
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Court Statistics Project
The Court Statistics Project (CSP) — a joint project of the National Center for State Courts (NCSC) and the Conference of State Court Administrators (COSCA) — publishes caseload data from the courts of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. These data are provided by the offices of the state court administrator in those jurisdictions. The data reported here conform to the definitions and case counting rules in the State Court Guide to Statistical Reporting (Guide). States publish their own data that may be more extensive, although not directly comparable to other states for a variety of reasons, including differences in court structure, case definitions and counting practices, court rules, statutes, or terminology.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago
Federal Bureau of Prisons
Maintains statistics on inmates, population, and staff.
Jail Data Initiative (NYU Public Safety Lab)
Welcome to the Jail Data Initiative population dashboard. On this page, you will find overall jail population trends that can be filtered by demographics of those incarcerated, geography, and/or time frame. Depending on the selected date range, the number of rosters included may vary due to fluctuations in the start dates of data collection and the availability of accessible roster data.
The Jail Profiles page provides in-depth data on individual jails that can be filtered by county, and the Glossary of Terms tab on the Documentation page provides detailed definitions of terms used throughout the site.
Sunlight Foundation Hall of Justice
Hall of Justice is a Sunlight Foundation Project working with criminal justice data. The project is no longer maintained, but you can find the archived underlying data set here.
The National Registry of Exonerations
The Registry collects, analyzes and disseminates information about all known exonerations of innocent criminal defendants in the United States, from 1989 to the present. We publish their stories and we provide accessible, searchable online statistical data about their cases. We also conduct empirical studies of the process of exoneration and of factors that lead to the underlying wrongful convictions.
Longitudinal Dataset of Private Prisons (Anna Gunderson)
Variables in this dataset include: Political Scientist Anna Gunderson's original data on the location and capacity of private prisons in the United States from 1986 to 2016, proportion of inmates held in private facilities (post 1999), the year each state privatized, an original measure of the approximate number of corrections officers that are unionized in each state, among other demographic, political, and social variables. Some of these variables are available from 1984
National COVID-19 Statistics (The COVID Prison Project)
The site will offer analysis and resources to better understand how coronavirus is impacting people who are incarcerated. We track data from all 50 US states, Puerto Rico, the Federal Bureau of Prisons, and Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). Content will focus on data collection and analysis using a public health-oriented framework.
World Prison Brief: International Imprisonments Highest to Lowest
World Prison Brief is an online database providing free access to information on prison systems around the world. It is hosted by the Institute for Crime & Justice Policy Research at Birkbeck, University of London.