Skip to Main Content
Handbook on Gender and Violence
Containing contributions from leading experts in the field, this Handbook explores the many ways gender and violence interact across different contexts and offers a range of disciplinary perspectives. This comprehensive work connects micro-level interpersonal violence to macro-level structural forms of violence across three discrete but interrelated sections: concepts, representations, and contexts.
Routledge International Handbook of Crime and Gender Studies
The Routledge International Handbook of Crime and Gender Studies is a collection of original, cutting-edge, multidisciplinary essays which provide a thorough overview of the history and development of research on gender and crime, covering topics based around: theoretical and methodological approaches gender and victimization gender and offending gendered work in the criminal justice system future directions in gender and crime research.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology offers concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts in sociology, written by leading scholars in the field, including several faculty from Boston University. Content dating to 2015 is included. Entries range from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in both classical sociology and contemporary developments in the field.
Encyclopedia of Rape and Sexual Violence
Content illuminates all aspects of this serious issue, including the forms of trauma experienced by survivors/victims; different types of rape, from incest to acquaintance rape to prison rape; specific cases, events, and controversies; laws, policies, movements, and organizations pertaining to the issue; and legal, political, and cultural contributors to rape and other forms of sexual violence.
Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
This online edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work includes over 700 articles on all aspects of social work and is updated monthly. It also includes biographies of major figures in the field of social work.
"Femininities and Masculinities: Looking Backward and Moving Forward In Criminal Legal Historical Gender Research," in The Oxford Handbook of Legal History
This chapter first reviews the foundational works and thinking that put the criminal legal history of gender on the academic map, setting an ambitious research agenda that remains inspirational. The second section explores the topic of fatal femininities and masculinities by considering how feminist scholars and masculinity researchers have shaped our analysis of men and women who murder intimates.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice is an international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige.
Color Atlas of Domestic Violence
The Color Atlas of Domestic Violence is the first text to look specifically and comprehensively at the injuries frequently seen as a result of domestic violence. This atlas provides a visual aid for the examination, identification, and documentation of domestic injuries. It includes extensive visual content, as well as content on the cycles of violence and epidemiology of domestic violence. Specific injury types and patterns are both discussed and presented pictorially.
Encyclopedia of Behavioral Medicine
This encyclopedia advances the understanding of behavioral medicine principles and clinical applications among researchers and practitioners in medicine, psychology, public health, epidemiology, nursing, and social work. In addition, the encyclopedia provides useful synergies for sociologists, anthropologists, and undergraduates with some interest in the interface of human health and behavior.
Handbook on Effective Police Responses to Violence against Women
Designed for first-responders such as the police, this handbook explains the issue of police response to violence against women, provides an overview of relevant norms and standards, and gives guidance on how to intervene. In particular, it focuses on how to investigate acts of violence against women—a process that requires considerable sensitivity.
Handbook of LGBT Communities, Crime, and Justice
Contemporary scholars have begun to explore non-normative sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression in a growing victimization literature, but very little research is focused on LGBTQ communities’ patterns of offending (beyond sex work) and their experiences with police, the courts, and correctional institutions. This Handbook, the first of its kind in Criminology and Criminal Justice, will breaks new ground by presenting a thorough treatment of all of these under-explored issues in one interdisciplinary volume that features current empirical work.
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence
The Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence is a modern reference from the leading international scholars in domestic violence research. This ground-breaking project has created the first ever publication of an encyclopedia of domestic violence. The primary goal of the Encyclopedia is to provide information on a variety of traditional, as well as breakthrough, issues in this complex phenomenon.
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory
This two-volume set is designed to serve as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary criminological theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in a context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. The work provides essays on cutting-edge research as well as concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.
Rape and Sexual Assault: A Reference Handbook
This work explains the problem of sexual assault in the United States, including societal factors, notorious cases, laws and practices, victim advocacy and reform efforts, keys to recovery, and the difficulty of prosecuting many offenses. It discusses who the victims and offenders are, and what can be done to reduce the problem. It explores how poor prosecutorial leadership and rape culture have facilitated the problem and how shifts in attitude and policy could prevent them.
"Gendering Traditional Theories of Crime," in Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
The major theoretical paradigms in criminology developed with little to no consideration of sex or gender differences in offending. Insights from gender and feminist studies demonstrate, however, that ignoring sex and gender in explanations of crime is to the detriment of the field.