Related Guides
General Library Resources
Dictionaries - Word History and Usage
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window A complete version of the second edition of the Oxford English Dictionary (1989) with onlines updates added four times a year since 2000.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Published by Oxford University Press, it is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database containing dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works.
- Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window Brill’s New Pauly provides access to Brill’s New Pauly, an encyclopedia of the ancient world translated into English; Der Neue Pauly, the original German version; and Supplements I, Volumes 1-6 (in English) on chronologies; author/text dictionary; atlas; reception of myth, mythology, and classical literature; and scholarship.
Find more reference sources on:
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols by
This is the first dictionary of symbols to be based on literature, rather than 'universal' psychological archetypes or myths. It explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we all frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), and gives hundreds of cross-references and quotations. The dictionary concentrates on English literature, but its entries range widely from the Bible and classical authors to the twentieth century, taking in American and European literatures. For this new edition, Michael Ferber has included over twenty completely new entries (including bear, holly, sunflower and tower), and has added to many of the existing entries. Enlarged and enriched from the first edition, its informed style and rich references make this book an essential tool not only for literary and classical scholars, but for all students of literature.
Location: Online and Mugar Reference X PN56.S9 F47 2007Publication Date: 2007
A Dictionary of the Bible by
A Dictionary of the Bible is the most authoritative, accessible, and up-to-date dictionary of its kind available. Containing over 2,000 entries it provides clear and concise information about the important places, people, themes, and doctrines of the Bible. Terms range from earthquakes andmice to martyrs and art, and new to this edition are entries on Zionism, Old Testament and New Testament theology, hannukah, Luther, Calvin, Jesus in the Koran, and many more. This dictionary features a detailed bibliography, biographies of Bible scholars, a conversion table of measures, weights, and values, a chronology of important dates in Biblical history, and historical maps (showing Israel in Canaan; the near east in the time of the Assyrian Empire; Palestine underthe Herods; the background of the New Testament; Rome and the East). In addition, entries on the books of the Bible have been grouped in alphabetical order and conveniently located in a tinted centre section for quick reference. Recommended web links in the appendix provide valuable extrainformation, these links are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of the Bible companion website.With lively and informative A-Z entries and an array of useful supplementary material, this dictionary is essential for students and teachers of theology and religious education, and it is an absorbing reference work for all readers of the Bible.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2011
Adonis to Zorro : Oxford dictionary of reference and allusion by
Allusions form a colourful extension to the English language, drawing on our collective knowledge of literature, mythology, and the Bible to give us a literary shorthand for describing people, places, and events. So a cunning crook is an Artful Dodger, a daydreamer is like Billy Liar, apowerful woman is a modern-day Amazon - we can suffer like Sisyphus, fail like Canute, or linger like the smile of the Cheshire Cat. This absorbing and accessible A-Z explains the meanings of allusions in modern English, from Adonis to Zorro, Tartarus to Tarzan, and Rubens to Rambo. Fascinating to browse through, the book is based on an extensive reading programme that has identified the most commonly-used allusions. For thethird edition all entries have been reviewed, revised, and thoroughly updated to ensure the consistency of coverage of allusions and references. New to this edition is the inclusion within each entry of a short summary definition for the allusion or reference, ideal for quick reference, and at leastone illustrative citation from a wide range of source materials in almost every entry: from Aldous Huxley to Philip Roth, Emily Bronte to The Guardian Unlimited.. A useful thematic index allows searching for allusions related to a specific topic, e.g. at Intelligence find Aristotle, Einstein, andSpock, and at Hair find Medusa, Samson, and Shirley Temple.Oxford Dictionary of Reference and Allusion is both a useful and user-friendly reference work for students of English Literature and Language, as well as for non-native English speakers for aid with unusual references, and an absorbing volume for all lovers of literature and culture ingeneral.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2010
The Routledge Handbook of Greek Mythology by
This new edition is a completely rewritten and revised version of Rose's original, seminal, text. Adding a huge amount of new material, Robin Hard incorporates the results of the latest research into his authoritative accounts of all the gods and heroes. The narrative framework of the book includes helpful signposting so that the book can be used as work of reference, and alongside the narrative chapters, it includes full documentation of the ancient sources, maps, and genealogical tables. Illustrated throughout with numerous photographs and line drawings, it will remain the definitive account of ancient Greek mythology for generations to come.
Location: Online and Mugar Stacks BL783 .H37 2004Publication Date: 2003
Guides to the Literature
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Published by Oxford University Press, it is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database containing dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works.
- Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of biology, business and management, classical studies, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, neuroscience, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion, and social work.
- Cambridge Companions Complete Collection This link opens in a new window The Cambridge Companions present collections of essays written by leading experts in the field on themes, subjects, and key figures in three broad areas: Literature and Classics; Philosophy, Religion, and Culture; and Music.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics by
Through three editions over more than four decades, The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics has built an unrivaled reputation as the most comprehensive and authoritative reference for students, scholars, and poets on all aspects of its subject: history, movements, genres, prosody, rhetorical devices, critical terms, and more. Now this landmark work has been thoroughly revised and updated for the twenty-first century. Compiled by an entirely new team of editors, the fourth edition--the first new edition in almost twenty years--reflects recent changes in literary and cultural studies, providing up-to-date coverage and giving greater attention to the international aspects of poetry, all while preserving the best of the previous volumes. At well over a million words and more than 1,000 entries, the Encyclopedia has unparalleled breadth and depth. Entries range in length from brief paragraphs to major essays of 15,000 words, offering a more thorough treatment--including expert synthesis and indispensable bibliographies--than conventional handbooks or dictionaries. This is a book that no reader or writer of poetry will want to be without. Thoroughly revised and updated by a new editorial team for twenty-first-century students, scholars, and poets More than 250 new entries cover recent terms, movements, and related topics Broader international coverage includes articles on the poetries of more than 110 nations, regions, and languages Expanded coverage of poetries of the non-Western and developing worlds Updated bibliographies and cross-references New, easier-to-use page design Fully indexed for the first time
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2012
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Poets and Poetry by
The most comprehensive reference on American poetry ever assembled, this encyclopedia includes more than 900 alphabetically arranged entries, contributed by approximately 350 scholars. Written for students and general readers, the set covers poetry from the colonial era to the present, devoting special attention to contemporary poets and their works. Multicultural in scope, the encyclopedia covers poets, genres, critics, poetic terms, and movements. Its entries range from Caribbean to Confessional Poetry, from Dada to Eco-poetics, from Gay and Lesbian Poetry to Literary Magazines, New Formalism, and more. The most comprehensive reference on American poetry ever assembled, this enormous encyclopedia includes more than 900 alphabetically arranged entries by roughly 350 scholars. Other references on poetry typically cover a particular period, or survey a limited range of authors, or they do not cover poets, and works, and techniques. This encyclopedia surpasses existing works by considering the entire range of American poetry, overviewing major and minor authors, and combining biographical and critical entries with entries on a wide range of topics. Written for students and general readers at a time when poetry is central to the curriculum, the set covers material from the colonial era to the present, devoting special attention to contemporary poets and their works. Multicultural in scope, the encyclopedia provides entries on numerous poets from diverse ethnic backgrounds. It also devotes considerable attention to women poets and to poets who are just beginning to establish their reputations. In addition, it relates American poetry to its social, historical, political, and cultural contexts. The extensive experience of the volume editors and contributors is supplemented by an advisory board of some of the world's most distinguished scholars, including: Steven Gould Axelrod; Paula Bernat Bennett; Charles Bernstein; Pattie Cowell; Henry Louis Gates, Jr.; Donald Marshall; Marjorie Perloff; John Shields; Lorenzo Thomas; Robert von Hallberg; And Cheryl Lawson Walker. Among the many poets discussed are: Amos Bronson Alcott; Maya Angelou; Amiri Baraka; William Bronk; Alice Cary; Billy Collins; Stephen Crane; Countee Cullen; James Dickey; Emily Dickinson; Rita Dove; Bob Dylan; Peter Everwine; Robert Frost; Sandra Gilbert; Allen Ginsberg; Dana Gioia; Robinson Jeffers; N. Scott Momaday; And many others. In addition, the "Encyclopedia" includes entries on such topics as: African American Slave Songs; Agrarian School; Asian American Poetry; Beat Poetry; Black Arts Movement; Blues; Chicano Poetry; Digital Poetry; Ekphrastic Poetry; Epic; Ethnopoetics; Experimental Poetry and the Avant-Garde; Feminist Poetics; Light Verse; Performance Poetry; And many others. Features; Includes more than 900 alphabetically arranged entries.; Brings together the work of roughly 350 expert contributors.; Covers American poetry from the colonial era to the present.; Includes entries on major canonical poets.; Highlights the work of poets who are just beginning to establish their reputations.; Gives full attention to poets from diverse racial and ethnic backgrounds.; Notes the achievements of women poets.; Relates American poetry to its historical, social, political, and cultural contexts.; In addition to biographical entries, the encyclopedia includes entries on poetic genres, schools, movements, terms, periods, theories, practices, and other topics.; Includes an alphabetical list of entries.; Lists entries grouped in topical categories.; Entries cite works for further reading.; Entries are fully cross-referenced.; Provides a selected, general bibliography of broard studies of American poetry.; Includes a detailed index. Benefits; Helps students understand and appreciate the precise and creative use of language.; Assists students in using poetry to understand social, political, and cultural issues.; Develops an appreciation for the achievemen
Location: Mugar Reference X PS303 .G74 2006Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Century by
The Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Centurycontains over 400 entries that treat a broad range of individual poets and poems, along with many articles devoted to topics, schools, or periods of American verse in the century. Entries fall into three main categories: poet entries, which provide biographical and cultural contexts for the author's career; entries on individual works, which offer closer explication of the most resonant poems in the 20th-century canon; and topical entries, which offer analyses of a given period of literary production, school, thematically constructed category, or other verse tradition that historically has been in dialogue with the poetry of the United States.
Location: Mugar Reference X PS323.5 .E53 2001Publication Date: 2001
The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature by
From folk ballads to film scripts, this new five-volume encyclopedia covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantialessays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading ofliterature was significant. An ideal companion to The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, this set will prove invaluable for students, scholars, and general readers. For more information, including a complete table of contents and list of contributors, please visit www.oup.com/us/ebl
Location: Mugar Reference X PR19 .O95 2006 (5 vols)Publication Date: 2006
