BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
This book critically examines current ELT practices vis-à-vis the use of English as an international lingua franca. It bridges the gap between theoretical discussion and the practical concerns of teaching English as an international language, and presents diverse approaches for preparing competent users of English in international contexts.
The first handbook to explore the field of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages in elementary and secondary education (K-12) The number of students being educated in English has grown significantly in modern times -- globalization, immigration, and evolving educational policies have prompted an increased need for English language learner (ELL) education. The Handbook of TESOL in K-12 combines contemporary research and current practices to provide a comprehensive overview of the origins, evolution, and future direction of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages at the elementary and secondary levels (K-12). Exploring the latest disciplinary and interdisciplinary issues in the field, this is a first-of-its-kind Handbook and contributions are offered from a team of internationally-renowned scholars. Comprehensive in scope, this essential Handbook covers topics ranging from bilingual language development and technology-enhanced language learning, to ESOL preparation methods for specialist and mainstream teachers and school administrators. Three sections organize the content to cover Key Issues in Teaching ESOL students in K-12, Pedagogical Issues and Practices in TESOL in K-12 Education, and School Personnel Preparation for TESOL in K-12. Satisfies a need for inclusive and in-depth research on TESOL in K-12 classrooms Presents a timely and interesting selection of topics that are highly relevant to working teachers and support staff Applies state-of-the-art research to real-world TESOL classroom settings Offers a balanced assessment of diverse theoretical foundations, concepts, and findings The Handbook of TESOL in K-12 is an indispensable resource for undergraduate and graduate students, researchers and scholars, and educators in the field of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages in elementary and secondary education.
This volume investigates ideological and hegemonic practices in globally and locally written English as a Foreign Language (EFL) textbooks, and explores whether these textbooks reflect the values, beliefs and norms of the native-speaker society by examining their ideological components and the hegemonic practices by means of which the source society or state seeks to influence learners of the language. It also attempts to clarify EFL teachers' and students' views on the underlying ideology and hegemonic practices in globally and locally written EFL textbooks. Studies on the relationship between ideology, hegemony and textbooks in applied linguistics have become more prevalent in recent decades, as the emergence of critical theory, critical pedagogy, and critical thinking skills from the 1920s onwards has led scholars to adopt a more critical perspective towards EFL textbooks, especially with regard to elements of ideology and hegemony. These two terms encompass a plethora of components, ranging from nationalism to religion. At the same time, the importance of metanarratives originating from the tenets of modernism has declined from the 1960s onwards, the assumption being that the world has entered a new age called postmodernism and post-structuralism that emphasizes the role of individuals and rejects efforts to reinforce post-colonialism, the effects of which can be seen in EFL textbooks. Accordingly, taking the elements of ideology and hegemony into account remains a vital aspect in the analysis of EFL textbooks.
2019 PROSE Award Subject Category Winner - Multivolume Reference/Humanities. Honorable Mention for RUSA's 2019 Dartmouth Medal. The definitive reference in the field of English language teaching The TESOL Encyclopedia of English Language Teaching explores the theoretical and practical aspects of English language instruction by providing an essential, go-to reference resource for educators, professionals, researchers, and students world-wide. Over 750 entries written by leading practitioners and scholars from around the globe reflect the collaborative efforts of a truly international team of editors and advisory board members. The Encyclopedia is arranged thematically and entries are ordered A-Z within each of these themes. Fifteen key topic areas are covered: Approaches & Methods Assessment English as an International Language NNESTs Organizational Issues Sociocultural Aspects Teaching Grammar Teaching Listening Teaching Reading Teaching Speaking Teaching Vocabulary Teaching Writing Technology Training & Development
Our interlibrary loan service allows current BU faculty, staff, and students to request materials we don't have. Books generally take 1-3 weeks to arrive; articles are generally delivered electronically within 1-2 days.