Skip to Main Content
Find Background Information
Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Hong Kong
This book provides a thorough introduction to Hong Kong today. As such, it will be invaluable to students and scholars of Hong Kong's politics, culture and society. It will also be of interest to those studying Chinese political development and the impact of China's rise more generally.
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Chinese Culture
This Companion explains key aspects of modern Chinese culture without assuming prior knowledge of China or the Chinese language.
Handbook on East Asian Social Policy
Dramatic socio-economic transformations over the last two decades have brought social policy and social welfare issues to prominence in many East Asian societies. Since the 1990s and in response to national as well as global pressure, there have been substantial developments and reforms in social policy in the region but the development paths have been uneven.
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Chinese Religions
Comprising the most up-to-date, interdisciplinary research on the study of Chinese religious beliefs and cultural practices, this volume explores the rich and complex religious and philosophical traditions that have developed and flourished in one of the world's oldest civilizations. Covers the main Chinese traditions of Confucianism, Taoism, and Buddhism as well as Christianity and Islam.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
The Encyclopedia of Gender and Society covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. This comprehensive encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
A companion to Chinese Art
Exploring the history of art in China from its earliest incarnations to the present day, this comprehensive volume includes two dozen newly-commissioned essays spanning the theories, genres, and media central to Chinese art and theory throughout its history.
The Oxford Companion to the Economics of China
This book provides a wide range of perspectives on the past, present, and future of the Chinese economy.
Handbook on Ethnic Minorities in China
This much-needed volume explains who ethnic minorities are and how well do they do in China. In addition to offering general information about ethnic minority groups in China, it discusses some important issues around ethnicity, including ethnic inequality, minority rights, and multiculturalism. Drawing on insights and perspectives from scholars in different continents the contributions provide critical reflections on where the field has been and where it is going, offering readers possible directions for future research on minority ethnicity in China.
Handbook of the Politics of China
The Handbook of the Politics of China is a comprehensive resource introducing readers to the very latest in research on Chinese politics. David Goodman provides an introduction to the key structures and issues, providing the foundations on which later learning can be built. Including a comprehensive bibliography, it is an ideal reference work for undergraduate and postgraduate students and academics. The Handbook contains four sections of new and original research, dealing with leadership and institutions, public policy, political economy and social change, and international relations.
Handbook of Contemporary China
Handbook of Contemporary China is a convenient reference in one single volume that offers comprehensive overviews of crucial cultural dimensions and key institutions of China. The Handbook covers a wide range of topics including: development model, politics, society, law, population, ethnicity, foreign relations, environment, urbanization, higher education, religion, literature, cinema, leisure and consumption, and internet and society.
Historical dictionary of the People's Republic of China
This third edition of Historical Dictionary ofthe People's Republic of China contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about China.
A dictionary of Chinese Literature
From the Shi jing (Classic of Songs) of the eleventh century BC, to the to the wanglu wenxue (Internet literature) of the twenty-first century, this authoritative dictionary covers key terms relative to the study of Chinese literature, from antiquity to the present day.
A dictionary of business and management in China
Expanding on Oxford's coverage of the topic in 'A Dictionary of Business and Management', this dictionary includes up-to-date coverage of China's business policy, customs, financial sector, and managerial practices as well as treatment of regulations, laws, and regulatory bodies relating to Chinese business and management
Historical dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution
The history of the Chinese Cultural Revolution through a chronology, introduction, glossary, extensive bibliography, and more than 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries.