Skip to Main Content
ASA Style Guide
American Sociological Association Style Guide, 6th ed.
The ASA Style Guide highlights and features guidelines for the most common situations experienced by authors and editors in the ASA journal publication process. It is designed to serve as the authoritative reference for writing, submitting, editing, and copyediting manuscripts for ASA journals.
American Sociological Association Style Guide, 7th ed.
he seventh edition of the ASA Style Guide features guidelines for the most common situations encountered by authors and editors in the ASA journal publication process. It is designed to serve as the authoritative reference for writing, submitting, editing, and copyediting manuscripts for journals and other materials using or requiring ASA style.
While the structure of this edition is consistent with past editions, some changes have been made to the content. All links and reference sources have been updated or veried for accuracy. This edition also updates ASA policy on the use of the singular "they" as a generic pronoun, and includes new preferred terminology and capitalization for race/ethnicity.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
The Encyclopedia of Gender and Society covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. This comprehensive encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
APA Handbook of Men and Masculinities
In the past three decades, there has been an exponential growth in empirical psychological research on men and masculinities, although this emerging body of research has yet to be appropriately summarized, synthesized, and critically evaluated. This APA handbook addresses that lack with a strong focus on psychological science. It tackles the full spectrum of the theoretical, empirical, and practical, not only focusing on the extant literature in traditional areas of men and masculinities, but also highlighting new and emerging scholarship.
The Psychology of Men and Masculinities
The psychology of men and masculinities is a thriving, growing field dedicated to the study of how men's lives shape--and are shaped by--sex and gender. This volume shows how far the field has advanced and what directions it is taking. It explains and evaluates major theories, research, and applications, with an emphasis on the gender role strain paradigm and related theories. In addition, it synthesizes research on men's mental and physical health, as well as therapeutic interventions and prevention programs.
Criminal Justice Handbook on Masculinity, Male Aggression, and Sexuality
Criminal Justice Handbook on Masculinity, Male Aggression, and Sexuality discusses masculinity as a social construct, an ideal, and an impediment for males and females. The book explores how the law equalizes, protects, bridles, and enforces masculinity while dealing with crime, which often exploits and exaggerates masculinity. Among the topics addressed are historical and contemporary law, scientific understandings, issues in corrections, military service, the court system, policing, criminal procedure, medicine, and treatment.