Dictionaries
Oxford Hebrew-English Dictionary by
80,000 entries Up-to-date idioms and expressions make this dictionary a sophisticated, bilingual tool. It has clear, bold type and includes notes on English grammar such as plurals, adjectives, verbs, tenses, time of day and much more.
Location: Mugar Reference X PJ4833 .O94 1994Publication Date: 1994
The Concise Dictionary of Classical Hebrew by Location: Theology Library Reference PJ4833 .C66 2009Publication Date: 2009
Comprehensive Yiddish-English Dictionary by
Including over 37,000 entries compiled by a team of expert Yiddish linguists, Comprehensive Yiddish-English Dictionary surpasses all its predecessors in the number of words and rich selection of idioms, examples of usage, and coverage of stylistic levels and dialect forms. The user-friendly entries include words for standard and literary as well as contemporary colloquial and conversational usage and a wide range of terms from all sources of Yiddish, including those of Hebraic-Aramaic, Slavic, and Romance as well as Germanic origin. The lexical corpus comes directly from the highly acclaimed Dictionnaire Yiddish-Français by Yitskhok Niborski and Bernard Vaisbrot, published by the Bibliothèque Medem in Paris in 2002. Augmented by an extensive user's guide, this volume is an indispensable resource for students, teachers, translators, and readers of Yiddish.
Location: Mugar Reference X PJ5117 .B37 2013Publication Date: 2013
ha-Milon he-ḥadash; Mahad. murḥevet u-meʻudkenet by
"Otsar shalem shel ha-lashon ha-ʻIvrit ha-sifrutit, ha-madaʻit ṿeha-meduberet : nivim ṿa-amarot ʻIvriyim ṿa-Aramiyim, munaḥim benleʼumiyim"
Location: Mugar Reference X PJ4830 .E93 1980 (3 vols)Publication Date: 1980
- Morfix Hebrew-English DictionaryMorfix is a free online Hebrew-English and English-Hebrew dictionary. It is the only dictionary that contains accurate up-to-date translations from Hebrew to English and from English to Hebrew, phrases and idioms from all language strata, including literary forms, English and Hebrew slang, acronyms and technological terms.
- Ma'agarim - Historical Dictionary ProjectThe Historical Dictionary Project has accumulated texts of all the extant Hebrew compositions from the time of the canonization of the Hebrew Bible until the end of the Geonic period, and large selections of Hebrew literature from the mid-18-th century until the founding of the State of Israel. In recent years medieval compositions have begun to be processed into the database.
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window Encyclopaedia Judaica provides "an overvew of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to 'Americana' and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
- The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe The only resource of its kind, this encyclopedia provides the most complete picture of the history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present. This website makes accurate, reliable, scholarly information about East European Jewish life accessible to everyone.
Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions by
This multicultural reference work on Jewish folklore, legends, customs, and other elements of folklife is the first of its kind.
Location: Mugar Reference X GR98 .E56 2013 and OnlinePublication Date: 2012
Medieval Jewish Civilization: an Encyclopedia by
This is the first encyclopedic work to focus exclusively on medieval Jewish civilization, from the fall of the Roman Empire to about 1492. The more than 150 alphabetically organized entries, written by scholars from around the world, include biographies, countries, events, social history, and religious concepts. The coverage is international, presenting people, culture, and events from various countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East. For a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample entries, and more, visit the MedievalJewish Civilization: An Encyclopediawebsite.
Location: Mugar Reference X DS124 .M386 2003 and OnlinePublication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of American Jewish History by
Written by the most prominent scholars in American Jewish history, this encyclopedia illuminates the varied experiences of America's Jews and their impact on American society and culture over three and a half centuries. * An outstanding series of maps by Sir Martin Gilbert locates places of origin, points of embarkation, sites of pogroms, Holocaust death camps, and transport routes * More than 125 photographs depict prominent individuals, Jewish neighborhoods, demonstrations, and rituals
Location: Mugar Reference X E184.35 .E53 2008 (2 vols)Publication Date: 2007-08-28
Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora: origins, experiences, and culture by
This three-volume work is a cornerstone resource on the evolution and dynamics of the Jewish Diaspora as it played out around the world--from its beginnings to the present. * Over 400 entries and essays in three volumes, arranged by theme, country, and region * Over 120 contributors, including the world's foremost Diaspora scholars, under the direction of an exceptionally distinguished editorial board * Maps developed in consultation with Sir Martin Gilbert, a leading expert in Jewish studies cartography * Both historic and contemporary images, depicting the people and places of the Diaspora around the world * A thorough bibliography pointing the way to the finest print and online resources for further reading
Location: Mugar Reference X DS115 .E47 2009 (3 vols)Publication Date: 2008
