These encyclopedias, companions, and histories provide overviews of Classical art -- chronological, by medium, geographical, thematic. Their bibliographies include the writings of international scholars in English and in other languages.
Main articles in Grove Art Online
A Companion to Roman Art by A Companion to Roman Art encompasses various artistic genres, ancient contexts, and modern approaches for a comprehensive guide to Roman art. Offers comprehensive and original essays on the study of Roman art Contributions from distinguished scholars with unrivalled expertise covering a broad range of international approaches Focuses on the socio-historical aspects of Roman art, covering several topics that have not been presented in any detail in English Includes both close readings of individual art works and general discussions Provides an overview of main aspects of the subject and an introduction to current debates in the field
Publication Date: 2015
A Companion to Greek Art by A comprehensive, authoritative account of the development Greek Art through the 1st millennium BC. An invaluable resource for scholars dealing with the art, material culture and history of the post-classical world Includes voices from such diverse fields as art history, classical studies, and archaeology and offers a diversity of views to the topic Features an innovative group of chapters dealing with the reception of Greek art from the Middle Ages to the present Includes chapters on Chronology and Topography, as well as Workshops and Technology Includes four major sections: Forms, Times and Places; Contacts and Colonies; Images and Meanings; Greek Art: Ancient to Antique
Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford History of Classical Art by The art and architecture of Greece and Rome lie at the heart of the classical tradition of the western world. Their legacy is so familiar as to have become commonplace, yet despite appearing straightforward, the development of classical art in antiquity was complex and remarkably swift. It ranfrom near abstraction in eighth-century BC Greece, through years of observation and learning from the arts of the non-Greek world to the east and in Egypt, to the brilliance of the classical revolution of the fifth century, which revealed attitudes and styles undreamt of by other cultures. AfterAlexander the Great this became the art of an empire, readily learned by Rome and further developed according to the Romans' special character and needs, until it provided the idiom for the imaging of Christianity. Here, five leading scholars tell the story of this pageant of the arts over some 1500 years, through a rich succession of illustrations on to which the narrative is woven. They demonstrate how the arts served very different societies and patrons - tyrannies, democracies, empires; the roles andobjectives of the artists; the way in which the classical style was disseminated far beyond the borders of the Greek and Roman world; but especially the splendour and quality of the arts themselves.
Location: Mugar Stacks N5610 .O84 1993
A History of Roman Art by Winner of the prestigious TAA Textbook Excellence Award, A HISTORY OF ROMAN ART has been updated to reflect scholarship advances of the past decade, and dramatically expands the lavish photographic documentation of the first edition with more than 400 new color photographs available in the text and online in MindTap. Professor Kleiner's approach to telling the story of Roman art and architecture, widely praised for its clarity, readability, and accuracy, is maintained in the new edition. A HISTORY OF ROMAN ART surveys the art of Rome and its empire from the time of Romulus to the death of Constantine presented in its historical, political, and social context, with coverage of Etruscan and Greek art in Italy before the rise of Rome and of Christian art and architecture during the Late Empire. Special chapters are devoted to Pompeii and Herculaneum, funerary and provincial art in all media.
Location: Mugar Reserve Room N5760 .K546 2018
Classical Archaeology (2nd ed) by The fully revised second edition of this successful volume includes updates on the latest archaeological research in all chapters, and two new essays on Greek and Roman art. It retains its unique, paired essay format, as well as key contributions from leading archaeologists and historians of the classical world. Second edition is updated and revised throughout, showcasing the latest research and fresh theoretical approaches in classical archaeology Includes brand new essays on ancient Greek and Roman art in a modern context Designed to encourage critical thinking about the interpretation of ancient material culture and the role of modern perceptions in shaping the study of art and archaeology Features paired essays - one covering the Greek world, the other, the Roman - to stimulate a dialogue not only between the two ancient cultures, but between scholars from different historiographic and methodological traditions Includes maps, chronologies, diagrams, photographs, and short editorial introductions to each chapter
Publication Date: 2012
The Parallel Worlds of Classical Art and Text by The Parallel Worlds of Classical Art and Text is the first study to consider the relationship between artists and texts throughout classical antiquity and to cover the entire range of illustrated text from traditional literary to technical works. By systematically applying new and objective criteria to judge the fidelity between picture and text, it is becomes clear that artists illustrate stories, not texts. Jocelyn Penny Small argues that artistic transmissions follow the model of oral, not textual, transmission where the variant rules and where there is no original. Pictures on vases, she demonstrates, should not be used to reconstruct lost literary works. Finally, Small offers an analysis of literary sources on pictures in texts, proving that the appearance of the first illustrated literary classical texts occurred at the end of the Late Roman Republic.
Location: Mugar Stacks NC977 .S63 2003
Art of the Classical World in the Metropolitan Museum of Art by Nearly 500 outstanding objects from the collection of the Department of Greek and Roman Art in the Metropolitan Museum are assembled in this generously illustrated publication, published to coincide with the opening of the Museum’s new galleries of Hellenistic, Etruscan, and Roman art, and comprehensive Study Center. The volume includes a detailed history of the collection by Carlos A. Picón and seven chapters that reflect the scope of the collection: the Neolithic and the Aegean Bronze Age, Geometric and Archaic Greece, Classical Greece, the Hellenistic Age, Cyprus, Etruria, and the Roman Empire. Notable are such treasures as a Cycladic figure of about 4500#150;4000 B.C., a fascinating andnbsp;meticulously restorednbsp;bronze and ivory Etruscan chariot from the sixth century B.C., and a number of well-preserved Roman wall paintings. An entry section includes an informative text about each object, along with a map for each chapter and a selection of drawings and details.
Location: Mugar Stacks N5871.5 .M48 2007
Classical Art by "Ancient Greek, Roman, and Etruscan civilizations come vividly to life in this selection of over one hundred highlights from the MFA's collection of Classical art. An introduction by curators Christine Kondoleon and Richard A. Grossmann outlines the geographical and historical scope of the Classical world from the Bronze Age to Late Antiquity describes the range of materials and techniques used by ancient artists, and provides a brief history of the MFA's collection. An appendix by conservator Pamela Hatchfield shares the conservation stories of some of the featured objects. In the splendidly illustrated body of the book, the highlighted artworks are grouped according to five broad themes: myth and religion, heroes and warriors, love and loss, daily life, and beasts and beauties. Celebrated mosaics, statues, and vases share the stage with less-familiar jewelry, coins, and glassware - each piece accompanied by a concise discussion of its artistic creation and cultural context. Both shared interests and varied traditions emerge in cross-cultural discussions of topics such as war and politics, commemoration of the dead, sports and entertainment, and the human form, providing rich insight into the astonishing civilizations that produced and used these fascinating objects so many centuries ago."--BOOK JACKET.
Location: Mugar Stacks N5603.B68 M87 2008
Related Background Encyclopedias
LIMC (Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae)
Mugar Reference X N7760 .L49 1981
Enciclopedia dell'arte antica, classica e orientale
Mugar Library Folio N31 .F58
Online: Enciclopedia dell'arte antica, classica e orientale
Text only. No illustrations.
Location: Mugar Stacks PA6825 A3 1984