Emmert Family Slide Collection
Approximately 1,000 slides donated to the African Studies Library in 2014 by Daniel Emmert.
The majority of these photos were taken by his mother, Martha Emmert. She and her husband Leon served with the American Baptist Foreign Mission Society for 35 years, starting in 1956.
The majority of the image collection (comprising colored slides) have been digitized and may be found by searching the library catalog and/or OpenBU.
Common Clay by Location: African Studies Library ASL Special Collections BV3625.C63 E55 1997ISBN: 9780965879101Publication Date: 1997
Legio Maria - Nancy Schwartz Collection
This collection comprises materials collected by Nancy "Penny" Schwartz during her anthropological research on the Legio Maria religious movement in Kenya.
The Legio Maria, or Legio Maria of African Church Mission, is an African-initiated church initiated among the Luo of western Kenya. It branched off of the Catholic Church in the 1960's and became an officially recognized church in Kenya in 1966.
The collection includes field notes, field recordings, manuscripts of Schwartz's doctoral dissertation, religious artifacts, and her personal library of books and articles on Kenya, Legio Maria and related faiths, and Luo language and culture.
Please note that portions of this collection are still in processing, but may be consulted in the African Studies Library Reading Room upon request.
Click here to browse books and materials from her collection.
Mission Archival Papers at BU
Examples of mission archives and papers held by Mugar Memorial and the Theology Libraries. Click on title to see the library record and further details.
- African missionary collections from the Centre for the Study of Christianity in the Non-Western World Nyasaland Mission, Nyasaland and Kikuyu, Kikuyu news, East African reports, Outposts Vol. I-IV, Livingstonia reports. reel 1. Nyasaland Mission reports, 1874-1887 -- reels 2-4. Nyasaland & Kikuyu: The quarterly review, 1874-1890, 1891-1901, 1902-1908 (various reports, books, and papers) -- reels 5-8. Kikuyu news, 1908-1914, 1915-1923, 1924-1930, 1931-1934 (periodical) -- reel. 9. East African reports, 1891-1908 -- reel 10. Outposts, Vol. I-IV, 1906-1909 (periodical) -- reel 11. Livingstonia reports: Annual report of the Livingstonia Mission of the United Free Church of Scotland (British Central Africa), 1904-1909. Click on record and then link to access finding guide.Location: Theology Library Mfilm (in-house use only)Publication Date: 2007
- The Matabele mission, a selection from the correspondence of John and Emily Moffat, David Livingstone and others, 1858-1878, by "Consists primarily of a hundred and thirteen letters pertaining to the first European settlement in Matabeleland, the London missionary society's station at Inyati." -- Introd.Location: Mugar Off-site Storage: sign in and request BV3625.M32 F45
- Missionary files Methodist Episcopal Church Board correspondence, 1884-1915, Africa, China, Latin America, India, Malaysia, Southern Asia, Japan, Korea. Description: Primarily outgoing correspondence from the Mission Society staff. The files contain correspondence with missionaries as well as routine business and management issues. Each letterpress book deals with a specific topic. Each volume has an index which shows where a particular person's letters are located. Click on the record to view contents.Location: Theology Library Mfilm (in-house use only)
Basel Mission
- Guide to the Basel Mission's Cameroon archive. Evangelische Missionsgesellschaft in Basel byLocation: African Studies Library Reference CD1929.B29 H112 1988Publication Date: 1988
- Guide to the Basel Mission's Ghana Archive ; 2nd updated ed.. byLocation: African Studies Library Reference CD1929.B29 G84 1985Publication Date: 1985
Church Missionary Society
- Church Missionary Society Archive by This microfilm publication brings together papers held at the CMS (Church Missionary Society) Headquarters in London and the University of Birmingham Library. These archives facilitate in-depth research into: area studies, imperial history, religious studies, education, medicine, slavery studies, women's studies and social history. Click on record's online link to access finding guide.Location: Theology Library Mfilm (in-house use only)
- Papers of the West Africa (Sierra Leone) mission, 1803-1914 Church Missionary Society. byLocation: African Studies Library Reference BV3500 .C5MPublication Date: 1960?
Congo Mission
- Congo mission archives : the papers of Bishop Ridsdale (1916-2000), missionary to the Eastern Congo, from the Henry Martyn Centre, Cambridge. by Click on record and then link to access finding guide.Location: Theology Library Mfilm (in-house use only)Publication Date: 2006
Church of the United Brethren in Christ
- Board of Missions, Sierra Leone, 1911-1948 Church of the United Brethren in Christ (New constitution) Minutes and journals of the Board of Missions of the Church of the United Brethren in Christ in Sierra Leone.Location: Theology Library Mfilm (in-house use only)Publication Date: 1911
International Missionary Council / Conference of British Missionary Societies
- IMC/CBMS archives by Africa -- East Africa -- West Africa -- French-speaking Africa -- Portuguese Africa -- Central and Southern Africa -- Egypt -- India.Location: Mugar Microforms: Microfiche BV2120Publication Date: 1977
The joint IMC/CBMS missionary archives : Africa & India, 1910-1945 : inventory
Covers the period in which the World Missionary Conference was held at Edinburgh, 1910-1945.
Serves as guide to microfiche collection: IMC/CBMS archives.
Location: African Studies Library Reference BV2120 .J65 1979ISBN: 9783857500275Publication Date: 1979
Paris Evangelical Missionary Society Archives
- Paris Evangelical Missionary Society Archives, guide to the microform collection. 1822-1947 : IDC numbers H-2100 - H-2107, H-3811 - H-4230 8 by v. 1 (Paris Evangelical Missionary Society Archives 1822-1935), IDC nos. H-2100 - H-2107 : Introduction. -- Correspondance des champs de mission. -- Index alphabet́ique. -- Index chronologique. -- France. v. 2 (Paris Evangelical Missionary Society Archives 1936-1947), IDC nos. H-3811 - H-4230 : [Introduction] -- Tale of contents. -- Cameroun. -- Gabon. -- Lesotho. -- Madagascar. -- Senegal. -- Togo. -- Zambeze. -- Nouvelle-Caledonie. -- Tahiti.Location: Theology Library Reference BV2330.A427 D47 1987 (2 vols.)Publication Date: 1987, 1998
- Paris Evangelical Missionary Society archives, 1822-1947 Kabylie Société des missions évangéliques de Paris. ; 1885-1894 by [Kabylie] Correspondence (1885-1894) [fiche] nos. 2182-2190. 8 microfiches : positive ; 11 x 16 cm..Location: Theology Library Mfiche (in-house use only) BV2353 .P37 K39 1986
Head, African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm